9 Posts

Formula D» Forums » Variants

Subject: PAINTING CARS! rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mark Stevenson

TORONTO
msg tools
Hey gang, I recently bought 2 sets of 6 F1 cars for Formula D from Shapeways! (which are pretty damn good btw) I was wondering if anyone had tips for painting them?

I'm new to the painting world and wanted some simple point form tips.
like...
1. primer
2. paint
3. race
haha

anyway, any info would be much appreciated

Thanks!
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Holger Doessing
Denmark
Odense
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
This depends widely on the type of material used for the print. Apart from the tips you may get here you can also have a look at the Shapeways forums, where a lot of people have reported their experiences with painting and/or dyeing various 3d prints.

edit: You can also ask over at the DIY forum or the Miniature Painters' Guild.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Peter Millen
United Kingdom
Greyabbey
Northern Ireland
flag msg tools
The Shapeways Formula D cars (metal) paint up well and even if your paint job is mediocre will look better from a distance than the plastic cars included with the game. So don't be afraid.

Study the colours of the teams you want to represent through F1 photographs, and from the professonally painted models on the Micro Racing Cars site. then choose your paints and take the plunge.

I did a set with GW white primer and Citadel paints, because that was what I had but as suggested above there is plenty of general painting advice on the site and lots of opinions too.

I am a lousy painter, with aging eyes and shaking hands but I have never regretted taking a brush to unpainted game figures. The results always please me.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Peter Pan
msg tools
Hi Guys,

The Plastic and resin cars are much more easy to paint then metal. And the metal are much more expensive too. That´s why Micro racing cars aren´t in metal.