Recommend
16 
 Thumb up
 Hide
69 Posts
1 , 2 , 3  Next »   | 

Android: Netrunner» Forums » Rules

Subject: New FAQ and Tournament Rules rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Geoff Thomas
United Kingdom
Enfield
London
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
http://www.fantasyflightgames.com/edge_news.asp?eidn=4262

No more Match Prestige points! Hurrah for simplicity.
17 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ben Hawks
United States
Des Moines
Iowa
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes! They cleaned up the one ruling that really bugged me, then they changed the tournament structure to be more reasonable and less meta-gamey. This really shows FFG cares about the game and is actively trying to improve it, which is really awesome.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David F
United States
Emeryville
California
flag msg tools
Luck in games, in measured doses, is the catalyst which enables shocking game-changers that you'll remember and talk about forever.
badge
Let the Lord of Chaos rule.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
This is awesome! I was about to propose the exact same rules for my next tournament, and am happy FFG listened to the fans.

Fans worldwide should celebrate by taking a Noise decker to their next tournament. Finally no more discrimination!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ben Finkel
United States
Washington
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Holy crap, Oversight + Woodcutter was reversed! Suddenly the Law of the Excluded Middle is restored to power.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kaiwen Zhang
Canada
Montreal
Quebec
flag msg tools
Welcome to Zombo.com!
badge
Art of life
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
did they forget to cut the match play section, because it doesn't make any sense within the context of the new rules...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Lindsay
United States
Marietta
Georgia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmb
Elimination uses match play (i.e. the old rules). It's only the swiss that uses the new rules.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Dawkins
United States
Fountain
Colorado
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
johncraven wrote:
did they forget to cut the match play section, because it doesn't make any sense within the context of the new rules...


Elimination rounds still use match play.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lucas Townsend
United States
Rock Hill
South Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The art used in the article very neat! I expect to see new cards use the art in upcoming packs.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ian Toltz
United States
Boston
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
designer
Your cat likes me more
badge
In brightest day / In blackest night / No evil shall escape my sight / Let those who worship evil's might / Beware my power--Green Lantern's light!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Azeltir wrote:
Holy crap, Oversight + Woodcutter was reversed! Suddenly the Law of the Excluded Middle is restored to power.


13 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alvin Simon
Philippines
flag msg tools
Make America Great Again
badge
Proud member of the Basket of Deplorables
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
All now includes zero!

OAI + Unadvanced Woodcutter = Trashed Woodcutter! Chum + Unadvanced Woodcutter = No damage!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Wood
United States
Grapevine
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
At least they gave a good reason of why they changed their mind on the ruling

Quote:
One of the more important concepts defined in the FAQ is the concept of “all.” Contradicting and correcting earlier rulings, we decided that it was necessary to make “all” include zero. Due to future card interactions and for simplicity’s sake, we realize it is better to not define a null state within the game. This was not an easy decision, but ultimately the fewer exceptions and edge cases a game has, the better.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Bialecki
United States
Costa Mesa
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm surprised they didn't change Step 2 of the "Timing Structure of a Run" to:

2. The runner APPROACHES the outermost piece of ice not already approached on the attacked server. ('When approached'conditionals meet their trigger conditions).

It seems it would make it consistent with the wording of step 3.0 and further clear up the Midori/Snitch problem.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ben Finkel
United States
Washington
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ArcticSnake wrote:
All now includes zero!

OAI + Unadvanced Woodcutter = Trashed Woodcutter! Chum + Unadvanced Woodcutter = No damage!


To be fair, Chum + Woodcutter never did damage. Hence the savagery to the Law of the Excluded Middle.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Wood
United States
Grapevine
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Also I really like that they put all the card specific rulings in the way they did.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steven Tu
South Africa
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I wish I knew where these bits of art are going to go

The filenames say [Vulcan Coverup] and [Blackguard] - looks like a new Console and a corp... agenda/operation?



6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Wood
United States
Grapevine
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
mbialeck wrote:
I'm surprised they didn't change Step 2 of the "Timing Structure of a Run" to:

2. The runner APPROACHES the outermost piece of ice not already approached on the attacked server. ('When approached'conditionals meet their trigger conditions).

It seems it would make it consistent with the wording of step 3.0 and further clear up the Midori/Snitch problem.



Midori ruling has specific mention of all these issues further down

Quote:
Midori can only be used at timing structure of a run 2.

If the Runner exposes an Ice with Snitch, Midori can still swap the ice. If the Runner jacks
out when using Snitch, then there is no opportunity to swap the ice.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Wood
United States
Grapevine
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
This Red Herrings ruling is interesting and one i've never heard of

Quote:
If the Runner accesses an
agenda from R&D, but
is unable or unwilling
to steal it by paying the
additional cost, he must
show it to the Corp.
10 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel B
Sweden
Kungsbacka
flag msg tools
128
badge
22
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
new rules wrote:
Byes
If during Swiss pairings there is an odd number of players,
the player at the bottom of the standings does not play that
round but gains 4 prestige (though no strength of schedule is
accumulated). Match pairings should be adjusted so that no
player recieves more than one bye per tournament.


It doesn't specify if you count a bye as one corp win and one runner win which is significant for the new first tie-breaker. I assume it does.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ony Moose
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The Breaking News/ Archer interaction with Amazon seems to have been removed from the FAQ, or am I just being blind?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Wood
United States
Grapevine
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
What interaction specifically are you talking about?

edit: Ahh you mean


Quote:
If the Corp scores Breaking News and then rezzes Archer through a card effect, forfeiting the Breaking News, does the Runner keep the 2 tags?
Yes. The conditional ability on Breaking News has not yet triggered, and it will not trigger when the turn ends since the card is no longer active. (Latest FAQ, 2013-02-27)



I do not see that mentioned specifically any longer, however I see no reason that is still not the case, instead Joshua B was singled out for specific mention as it's a different case (The click and the tag are the same effect/same line vs Breaking News being different effects)

Quote:
If the Runner gains a click with and then trashes the card
using , would he still take a tag at the end of the turn,
considering Joshua B is no longer active?
Yes. The Runner would still take the tag, even though Joshua B is no
longer active because the effect has already been triggered and is active
itself. Once an effect is triggered, it will resolve unless prevented or
avoided.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ony Moose
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
That's the one
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ben Finkel
United States
Washington
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
The effect of Forged Activation Orders is immediately resolved unless prevented or avoided.


A hint at sabotage hate to come?

Quote:
What interaction specifically are you talking about?


That if you score Breaking News, then install Archer on a server with Amazon Industrial Zone and forfeit the Breaking News, the tags from Breaking News persist as the effect that would remove them is no longer active.

Sigh, ninja.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steven Tu
South Africa
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Azeltir wrote:
Quote:
The effect of Forged Activation Orders is immediately resolved unless prevented or avoided.


A hint at sabotage hate to come?


That simply means you can't rez Akitaro to lower the cost of that ICE first
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ian Neufeld
Canada
Burnaby
British Columbia
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Azeltir wrote:
Quote:
What interaction specifically are you talking about?


That if you score Breaking News, then install Archer on a server with Amazon Industrial Zone and forfeit the Breaking News, the tags from Breaking News persist as the effect that would remove them is no longer active.

Sigh, ninja.


I'm wondering if that got reversed in light of the more recent "Joshua B" ruling that triggered effects will complete, even if their originating card is removed.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ony Moose
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
When it says Chum fires when the first subroutine fires, does that mean Chum->Ichi will trash a netshield before it can prevent damage, or after it does the damage?

EDIT
Also and presumably the chum timing needs to add "the encounter ends" for femee bypass or parasite trashing? Seems odd to do the damage when the run ends.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
1 , 2 , 3  Next »   | 
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.