1 , 2 , 3  Next »   | 

BoardGameGeek» Forums » Gaming Related » Recommendations

Subject: Mage Knight - Too complicated, should I choose another? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Viking Chevalier
Malta
flag msg tools
I am thinking about buying the Mage Knight board game, but judging from the rules, it look very complicated, and I'm new to board games.

Do you think Mage Knight is too complicated for a new board-gamer, if so, why exactly? And any other game recommendations for games like Mage Knight (both single player and multiplayer)?

Thanks!

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Aaron Yoder
United States
Middleton
WI
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Mage Knight is a very complex game. There are a lot of rules, and a lot of interactions between those rules. There is a lot to remember. But once you've learned, there aren't a lot of exceptions to rules that are in place, so they are easy to remember once you've got a good handle on the system. Be prepared to look through the book A LOT once you've read through it. Your first few games will be really long.

I also feel that Mage Knight is the most rewarding solo experience I've ever had. I do a lot of solo gaming.

If that sounds good to you, and you don't feel daunted by a ton of rules, then have at it.

But if the games you play have rules that occasionally (or ever) leave you reeling, I'd stick to some lighter fare, at least at first.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Cyrill Lampart
United Kingdom
Guildford
Surrey
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Let me start off by saying you shouldn't worry or limit yourself in anyway when choosing games simply because you are new to the hobby.

Mage Knight is a great game, as solo as well as multiplayer (although be very careful as a lot of people can confirm that the game can really become cumbersome with more then 2 or 3 people).