Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

Fury of Dracula (second edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Dracula event cards rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ryan O'Doherty
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Does Dracula get the option to immediately play an event that was just given to him if his hand is already full? Or does he have to discard another event first?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dangerous Partners
United Kingdom
Swindon
Wiltshire
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Discard one straight away to keep to your hand limit.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Goldfarb
United States
Houston
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No, it's possible to play an event to stay at the hand limit, if one is playable. For example, you could play Devilish Power to discard the Hunters' current Ally. There aren't many Dracula events that are playable when it's not his turn, though.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark McEvoy
Canada
Mountain
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
BeerAndBoard wrote:
Discard one straight away to keep to your hand limit.


Q: Dracula is only allowed to have 4 “Keep” Event cards
at a time. If he draws a fifth “Keep” Event card, must he
immediately discard one of his already held cards in order
to keep the newly drawn card? Or can he immediately
play one if the cards in order to reduce his total number of
“Keep” cards to 4?
A: The Dracula player has an opportunity to play an Event
card before discarding. When Dracula draws a fifth
“Keep” card, if he has a card (either one already held or
the one just drawn) that he can legally play at that
moment, then he may play it.

http://www.fantasyflightgames.com/ffg_content/Fury%20Of%20Dr...

Page 2, mid-right-column.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dangerous Partners
United Kingdom
Swindon
Wiltshire
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
David Goldfarb wrote:
No, it's possible to play an event to stay at the hand limit, if one is playable. For example, you could play Devilish Power to discard the Hunters' current Ally. There aren't many Dracula events that are playable when it's not his turn, though.

Ha! - being playing it wrong for years then . The 'legally able to be played' being a low likelihood probably just evolved to no in our games.
And I've read that FAQ often, how good is my rentention then laugh.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel Blumentritt
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
What all exactly could he play out of turn? For example, our ftf group has let Dracula use roadblock at this time but that might not actually be legal.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ryan O'Doherty
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Thanks for the help. It appears we've been playing correctly
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
H-B-G
United Kingdom
Halesowen
West Midlands
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Statalyzer wrote:
What all exactly could he play out of turn? For example, our ftf group has let Dracula use roadblock at this time but that might not actually be legal.


Roadblock would not be a legal play. The only possible legal play is Devilish Power to discard a hunter ally or a Heavenly Host.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Goldfarb
United States
Houston
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
DaveD wrote:
The only possible legal play is Devilish Power to discard a hunter ally or a Heavenly Host.

I thought that might be the case, but I didn't feeling like looking through all of the Dracula event cards to check.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dangerous Partners
United Kingdom
Swindon
Wiltshire
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
David Goldfarb wrote:
DaveD wrote:
The only possible legal play is Devilish Power to discard a hunter ally or a Heavenly Host.

I thought that might be the case, but I didn't feeling like looking through all of the Dracula event cards to check.

Which is why we probably have (lazily) evolved to 'no' .
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dangerous Partners
United Kingdom
Swindon
Wiltshire
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Wishazu wrote:
Thanks for the help. It appears we've been playing correctly

Maybe not arrrh, since there appears to be only one card that you could possibly play at that point on the game - and given how powerful Devilish Power is I doubt you would use it at this time just to keep four other (probably) less useful cards.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.