Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Keythedral» Forums » Rules

Subject: This one is important; bidding question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Laura Appelbaum
United States
Maryland
flag msg tools
Avatar
We're confused about a major part of the game, which concerns the auction for the "choose who goes first" token. To wit: when bidding for this token, do successive bids have to include the same commodity or commodities as previous bids? If Player A has the token and Player B wants it and bids a water cube, would Player A (or C for that matter) have to include a water cube in her bid, or could she bid one wood cube to meet B's bid? What if the bid is a not a resource cube but a craft, which is more expensive? Must a craft be included in other bids too for other players to try to win the token? Must they bid the *same* craft? I'm really at a loss to the answer on this one as the rules don't address the issue at all that I can see. Help!soblue
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J C Lawrence
United States
Campbell
California
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
Look at the values of cubes as VPs in the end-game. resource cubes are worth one VP. Craft cubes are worth an equal number of VPs to their trade value. All you have to do is offer more VP value in the auction.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim Cote
United States
Maine
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Actually during bidding, all cubes are worth 1:

"Each resource cube and each craft cube has a value of one for bidding purposes."
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom DeMarco
United States
Cinnaminson
New Jersey
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
You do not have to bid the same type of resource and/or craft cube(s) as any previous bid, although you do have to announce and show the cube(s) you are bidding.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel Corban
Canada
Newmarket
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Can someone point out where it says we are required to specify exactly which cubes you are bidding?

The rules do not state this. We have been simply bidding "1", "2", etc, without stating exactly which cubes we are offering.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.