Juan Mejia
United States
Chicago
IL
flag msg tools
of Power
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Ok, so I'm a complete newbie at designing a game but I've had a few ideas I've been tossing around and would just like an opinion on them and some suggestions on how to implement it.

I'd love to do an espionage/spy themed worker placement game, with some deck drafting elements. I'm going to start just listing game elements because my thoughts are super disorganized.

1- There'd be a deck of about 60 cards and you'd shuffle and take the correct amount of cards for player (9-10 per player) and then give each player a hand of cards, they'd then draft the amount of cards equal to the amount of turns in the game.

2- Players would be allowed to play one of those cards per turn to affect the game. I just don't know how to implement those and how much interaction they should have and if there should be defensive cards or what.

3- Map would just be a map of earth with certain cities, but with the card thing i don't know how I would do scoring or if I should do quests and the like or if that's too much like Lords of Waterdeep.

4- Purely cosmetic but the players colors/sheet would just be a random cool sounding acronym for an international espionage team. "Workers" would be wood cut people but like old school spies. Big coat and hat type thing.

5- I don't know what the resources would be other than like little briefcases for information. Was thinking of maybe like a bomb resource that you start out with and have to get rid of for points but other players can disarm them but that sounds like it'd be hard to implement.

I just have no idea how to go about any of this, I have a ton of free time right now but I've never done anything like this and would love some input!
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Aaron Bohm
United States
Appleton
Wisconsin
flag msg tools