Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Big Manitou» Forums » Rules

Subject: Evaluating the Hunter cards rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
John Mitchell
United Kingdom
Enfield
Middlesex
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The revised English rules say
Quote:
B) The player with the Hunter cards that have the highest combined value in that hunting ground chooses second. That player takes two Booty Tiles. In the event of a draw none of the tied players takes any tile. In these circumstances, the player with the next highest points total on their Hunter cards in that hunting ground (if any) takes two Booty Tiles.
C) Finally, the player with the next highest valued Hunter cards in total in that hunting ground (if any) takes the remaining Booty Tile, if there is one. (This situation will only arise in those hunting grounds where there are four tiles.) In the event of a tie none of the tied players takes a tile. The player with the next highest total points on their Hunter cards, if any, will take the fourth Booty Tile

Is this a complicated way of saying tied players are eliminated from that Hunter evaluation? And can the second-placed scoring player take two tiles if available (as in the original rule translation)?

So, for example:
In a hunting ground, there are no Heros. Gunter has 10 Hunters, Richard has 10 Hunters, Alessandro has 6, Mariano has 3. Is the outcome that Alessandro chooses 2, then Mariano takes the remaining 2?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alessandro Lanzuisi
Italy
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
Tycho wrote:
The revised English rules say
Quote:
B) The player with the Hunter cards that have the highest combined value in that hunting ground chooses second. That player takes two Booty Tiles. In the event of a draw none of the tied players takes any tile. In these circumstances, the player with the next highest points total on their Hunter cards in that hunting ground (if any) takes two Booty Tiles.
C) Finally, the player with the next highest valued Hunter cards in total in that hunting ground (if any) takes the remaining Booty Tile, if there is one. (This situation will only arise in those hunting grounds where there are four tiles.) In the event of a tie none of the tied players takes a tile. The player with the next highest total points on their Hunter cards, if any, will take the fourth Booty Tile

Is this a complicated way of saying tied players are eliminated from that Hunter evaluation? And can the second-placed scoring player take two tiles if available (as in the original rule translation)?

So, for example:
In a hunting ground, there are no Heros. Gunter has 10 Hunters, Richard has 10 Hunters, Alessandro has 6, Mariano has 3. Is the outcome that Alessandro chooses 2, then Mariano takes the remaining 2?


Yes, the tied players are eliminated from the hunter evaluation.
No, the second-placed scoring player takes one tile.
In the example, Mariano takes 1 tile. The other tile is out of the game.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Mitchell
United Kingdom
Enfield
Middlesex
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you Alessandro, for both this answer and the one in my other thread. I'm pleased you got two tiles in the example
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.