Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Sid Meier's Civilization: The Board Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Metalworking and the new FAQ rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ca$h
Norway
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I was quite surprised when I read the FAQ.
When reading though I am still not quite sure what they mean.

Quote:
Q: The resource ability on Metalworking says, “When
playing a unit from hand, add 3 to the strength of its
attack.” What exactly does this mean?

A: This means that a player may use the resource ability before
playing a unit card in battle in order to have that unit deal 3
extra wounds if played into the same front as an enemy unit.
Thus, a strength 1 unit would deal 4 wounds to the enemy
unit in its front. The strength boost lasts for the entire battle,
making the unit harder to kill.


What if you play your units in a new front and use iron on metalworking? Does that count? Since it says "if played into the same front as an enemy unit".

Since they clearly specify that it makes the unit harder to kill, one must conclude that they also get health boost, which in my opinion is really overpowered to be a level 1 tech.

In my group we have decided it only counts towards the attack and not health.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
bli bla
msg tools
mbmb
cash1981 wrote:
I was quite surprised when I read the FAQ.
When reading though I am still not quite sure what they mean.

Quote:
Q: The resource ability on Metalworking says, “When
playing a unit from hand, add 3 to the strength of its
attack.” What exactly does this mean?

A: This means that a player may use the resource ability before
playing a unit card in battle in order to have that unit deal 3
extra wounds if played into the same front as an enemy unit.
Thus, a strength 1 unit would deal 4 wounds to the enemy
unit in its front. The strength boost lasts for the entire battle,
making the unit harder to kill.


What if you play your units in a new front and use iron on metalworking? Does that count? Since it says "if played into the same front as an enemy unit".

Since they clearly specify that it makes the unit harder to kill, one must conclude that they also get health boost, which in my opinion is really overpowered to be a level 1 tech.

In my group we have decided it only counts towards the attack and not health.


We made the same decision. Only Strenght boost (because otherwise in addition to the +3 health, you also get +3 combat bonus at the end... Making Metalworking ability better than Mathematics ability...). Anyway when W&W will be out, there will be no more problem as Strenght and Health will be 2 different things (same for himeji castle).

You can play an Unit boosted with Metalworking even if you don't fill a front with it. -> It's allowed to open a front with a boosted unit, even if the wording can be interprated in the way you cannot do that...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Bauer
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
This discussion is also taking place in the thread about the new FAQ.
We are all quite confused by this ruling
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Giacomo Peroni
Italy
Milano
Unspecified
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Anduin wrote:
This discussion is also taking place in the thread about the new FAQ.
We are all quite confused by this ruling


Where can I find this thread? Thanks.

I'm too confused by this ruling. In my first game we did that way, so the result was a really easy military victory in the first turns by the player who had metalworking.
Then we read in the previous FAQ that the damage was the one being affected and not the wounds. It was a more balanced solution. I can't see why they've chosen to correct it that way... You will have horsemen strong as tanks for a whole battle, only for invensting an iron on them...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Harold Coleman
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/1004556/faq-updated-at-f...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.