Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

The Manhattan Project» Forums » Rules

Subject: Personalities and a retrieve worker turn... rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Greg Burkett
United States
Warsaw
Indiana
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Can you use the power of your personality card (from the expansion) on a retrieve workers turn? The rules don't mention that you can't, and in fact specifically say you can use their abilities are always activated.

It just *feels* wrong to have a retrieve workers turn, and on the same turn do a mini air strike with the purple scientist personality (forget his name).
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Keller
United States
Raleigh
North Carolina
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
Yeah both the wording on Lemay (the purple one) and Nichols (the teal one) could be argued as usable before you decide to Place Workers or Retrieve Workers. I would probably rule that Personalities' abilities are not in effect during a Retrieve Workers turn, and that your turn begins once you've decided whether to Place Workers or Retrieve Workers.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Mathe
United States
Greenfield
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
http://www.Game-Universe.com
badge
http://www.MinionGames.com
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In all cases and all situations the manual and designer clearly state if you "pull back your workers" you may do NOTHING else on your turn. Period. That applies for all expansions and we'll try to never break that golden rule.

So no, you can't use a personality on a turn in which you retrieve your workers. Which is obviously the when you grabbed the new personality.

James
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
蓝魔
United Kingdom
Bingham
Nottinghamshire
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
When you retrieve Workers, you must also take one available Personality tile of your choice from the General Supply. If you already have a Personality tile (which will always be the case except during your very first retrieval), you must return your current Personality tile to the General Supply. You may never keep the same Personality tile between your retrieve workers actions.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
d b
United States
De Forest
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
The road is full of flat squirrels, who couldn't make up their mind.
badge
I taught my dog to play Mage Knight... good dog.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
RPGShop wrote:
... we'll try to never break that golden rule.
...


Is this implying that more expansions are planned? ninja
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.