Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Bob Smith
United States
Michigan
flag msg tools
mb
Hi guys.

I'm trying to look for Heavy Duty plastic card sleeves to use for my Dune CCG cards - and I'm a little new to collecting.

I remember seeing Baseball-card Plastic sleeves when I was younger - you know, those clear thick-plastic case sleeves that screw at the corners and protect the card.

I was wondering if card games use anything similar to that at all, and where I could find them?

I could certainly benefit from your experience and knowledge, here.

Thanks!

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Justin R
United States
New York
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Just to be clear: we're not talking about functional sleeves conducive to gameplay? If you're talking screw at the corners...I don't have any advice myself (but surely a fellow geek does).

If you're talking about functional sleeves for play--and many will disagree with this recommendation--I have had good experiences with Mayday sleeves. I qualify that only because I know that some people have opened packs where the sizing was inconsistent to the point of rendering them useless. I have used standard and premium, and have only gotten consistent sleeves (with the lone exception of some Dixit sleeves I purchased...but only 1 pack in 3 was off, and then only being a couple of mm too small. I found very helpful Mayday's spreadsheet of different card types listed by game and the corresponding model that matches that size.

Other options are Fantasy Flight sleeves, which are better quality (probably around the quality of the Mayday premium sleeves), but are also a bit more expensive. Users who have had bad experiences with Mayday will insist they are worth the price.

Check out amazon for other non-gaming specific cards. You can find a lot of options at coolstuffinc.com

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bob Smith
United States
Michigan
flag msg tools
mb