LA Carroll
United States
Missouri
flag msg tools
I am relatively new to the hobby and am seeking some recommendations regarding which games to get next. Below you will find some information about me as a gamer and then my questions. I have scoured the BBG and the Internet for reviews and video playhtroughs but I need some help deciding what direction to go from here.

Me and Who I Game With: Most of the time I am gaming with two players. Occasionally I will have a max of four players. Two to three times a year I bring games with me when I am visiting my nieces (ages 8 and 13). Other than myself I would consider all of the others casual gamers. My nieces are beginning to become more than casual gamers. I am looking to bringing a little more challenge myself and my nieces as well as the other people I game with regularly. All have played and enjoy Pandemic and Forbidden Island. Cooperative is not necessary. My profile is current as far as the games I own and the ones I am looking into.

Questions:
1. Considering that a majority of the time I am playing in a 2-4 player group and the majority of my group is new to gaming, which of the following Rosenberg's games would be a good next step: Ora et Labora, Agricola (Family), Agricola: All Creatures Big and Small or At the Gate of Loyang.

2. If I only buy one game in the Lovecraft theme, which of the following would be best fit for solo as well as group play (max 2 players probably-I don't think the other couple would be interested in this theme and they are too cumbersome to bring with me when I travel to my visit my nieces): Arkham Horror, Elder Sign, or Mansions of Madness?

3. I already know that I want to buy Carcassonne. My question is are the Abbey and Mayor and the Bridges, Castles and Bazaars worth hunting down the Big Box 3?

Sorry this is lengthy and thank you in advance for all your help.

LoriAnn
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thomas
United States
Michigan
flag msg tools
badge