Brian Fung
Canada
Toronto
Ontario
flag msg tools
Hello All,

I'm interested in purchasing one of the Ben Hull's "Musket & Pike Battles series" from GMT. I never played one of his games before but I'm very interested in the 30YW. Which game do you guys recommend to start off with?

Thanks in advance!

Brian

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jooky
United States
Canton
IL
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Musket & Pike Battles series --> Which one for a beginne
I would kind of like to know this myself. I would like to eventually pick up all 3 games in the series, and hopefully find some others as well.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Was George Orwell an Optimist?
United States
Corvallis
Oregon
flag msg tools
Abdullah Ibrahim and Ekaya - Sotho Blue
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm a beginner as well, but I'd say Under the Lilly Banners, because it has the latest series rules and charts.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
L Myrick
United States
Pasadena
California
flag msg tools
designer
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Musket & Pike Battles series --> Which one for a beginne
Have only played (solo) This Accursed Civil War. Nicely done, but can't compare it to the others.

Also note that the designer has a new game in the series, Gustav Adolph the Great, on the GMT preorder list, as well as a new non-series game, Great Campaigns of the 30 Years War.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Christopher
United States
Salem
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
In the wonderful game, Bonaparte at Marengo, this is how to get nasty Frenchies out of a village.
mbmbmbmbmb