Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
35 Posts
1 , 2  Next »   | 

Android: Netrunner – Creation and Control» Forums » Rules

Subject: Does ALIX T4LB07 NEED TO BE REZZED TO PLACE TOKENS rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Bobby Picker
United States
Edwardsville
Illinois
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I assume once ALIX is installed. The player can place power counters on ALIX for every installed card if Alix is REZZED or UNREZZED. This is correct?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
El-ad David Amir
United States
New York
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Alix needs to be rezzed.
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wesley Kinslow
United States
Piperton
Tennessee
flag msg tools
↳ Do one brain damage ↳ Do one brain damage ↳ End the run
badge
Real heroes wear pink.
Avatar
mb
The text won't be active on Alix until you rez it so yes it needs to be rezzed to get counters.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bobby Picker
United States
Edwardsville
Illinois
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the quick response!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Clyde W
United States
Washington
Dist of Columbia
flag msg tools
Red Team
badge
#YOLO
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steven Tu
South Africa
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Well, the thing is, if the alternative is true, and you can put tokens onto something unrezzed, how do you prove that it is Alix beforehand? We'd end up with a bunch of people putting power counters on Pad Campaigns...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Peters
United States
Iowa
flag msg tools
It's time to go Full Chort.
badge
‎"NO FATE BUT THE NARRATIVES WE IMPOSE ON LIFE'S RANDOM CHAOS TO DISTRACT OURSELVES FROM OUR EXISTENTIAL PLIGHT"
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Tuism wrote:
Well, the thing is, if the alternative is true, and you can put tokens onto something unrezzed, how do you prove that it is Alix beforehand? We'd end up with a bunch of people putting power counters on Pad Campaigns...
yeah, but that is called "cheating." Given all the hidden information in this game you already kind of need to assume an honest opponent or playing will be a nightmare. That said, I'm not at all arguing that you can put power counters on Alix while derezzed. This is covered in the basic rules, is it not? Unless otherwise noted, the text on derezzed cards isn't active...
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tim Meng
msg tools
fnord3125 wrote:
Unless otherwise noted, the text on derezzed cards isn't active...


With the exception of "when accessed" abilities when the Runner is accessing them.

Ugh... that rule still bothers me. yuk
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Beyer
Denmark
Copenhagen
flag msg tools
more.
badge
Avatar
http://netrunnercards.info/rules/#rop58

The cards that say they can be advanced are exempt from only having active text while rezzed by the rulebook. Any card that can be advanced can be advanced even while unrezzed. Since placing tokens is not advancing, the card has to be active to have tokens placed on it. The regular rules of 'active text' are not violated by the card's text.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Roberta Yang
msg tools
Tuism wrote:
Well, the thing is, if the alternative is true, and you can put tokens onto something unrezzed, how do you prove that it is Alix beforehand? We'd end up with a bunch of people putting power counters on Pad Campaigns...

Have you seen a rash of people advancing their unrezzed Pad Campaigns to make them look like agendas? Or playing agendas face-down in front of servers as if they were Ice?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Awesome
United States
San Antonio
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Can't read my POKAH FASE
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
salty53 wrote:
Tuism wrote:
Well, the thing is, if the alternative is true, and you can put tokens onto something unrezzed, how do you prove that it is Alix beforehand? We'd end up with a bunch of people putting power counters on Pad Campaigns...

Have you seen a rash of people advancing their unrezzed Pad Campaigns to make them look like agendas? Or playing agendas face-down in front of servers as if they were Ice?


I once saw a guy install an ICE as an asset/agenda/upgrade.

A few minutes later he became the first android netrunner world champion.
11 
 Thumb up
0.01
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeremy Owens
United States
Rochester
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
trekkienz wrote:
With the exception of "when accessed" abilities when the Runner is accessing them.

Ugh... that rule still bothers me. yuk


Why does this bother you? Without "When Accessed" abilities, there are no traps... no snare, no Aggressive Secretary, no Junebug, etc.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Clyde W
United States
Washington
Dist of Columbia
flag msg tools
Red Team
badge
#YOLO
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Keggy wrote:
salty53 wrote:
Tuism wrote:
Well, the thing is, if the alternative is true, and you can put tokens onto something unrezzed, how do you prove that it is Alix beforehand? We'd end up with a bunch of people putting power counters on Pad Campaigns...

Have you seen a rash of people advancing their unrezzed Pad Campaigns to make them look like agendas? Or playing agendas face-down in front of servers as if they were Ice?


I once saw a guy install an ICE as an asset/agenda/upgrade.

A few minutes later he became the first android netrunner world champion.
Explain..? (Is this legal? I wasn't not aware if so.)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ben Finkel
United States
Washington
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It isn't legal. I hear tell that it happened a bit in ye olde Netrunner, as the rules were supposedly less clear that such play wasn't allowed.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Patrick Jamet
France
Paris
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
IirionClaus wrote:
Alix needs to be rezzed.

Does it mean that its effect does not apply to itself ?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Justin
United States
Creve Coeur
MO
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Azeltir wrote:
It isn't legal. I hear tell that it happened a bit in ye olde Netrunner, as the rules were supposedly less clear that such play wasn't allowed.

The rules were sufficiently clear, it's just that the T.O. weirdly allowed it after a long tournament.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Justin
United States
Creve Coeur
MO
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Aside: even if Alix didn't need to be rezzed, isn't it the *only* card in the game that could be advanced via installations?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel Kearns
United States
Bloomington
Indiana
flag msg tools
Silence is golden.
badge
Your sea is so great and my boat is so small.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Keggy wrote:
salty53 wrote:
Tuism wrote:
Well, the thing is, if the alternative is true, and you can put tokens onto something unrezzed, how do you prove that it is Alix beforehand? We'd end up with a bunch of people putting power counters on Pad Campaigns...

Have you seen a rash of people advancing their unrezzed Pad Campaigns to make them look like agendas? Or playing agendas face-down in front of servers as if they were Ice?


I once saw a guy install an ICE as an asset/agenda/upgrade.

A few minutes later he became the first android netrunner world champion.


Deservedly so. He was so good he hacked the rules!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Peters
United States
Iowa
flag msg tools
It's time to go Full Chort.
badge
‎"NO FATE BUT THE NARRATIVES WE IMPOSE ON LIFE'S RANDOM CHAOS TO DISTRACT OURSELVES FROM OUR EXISTENTIAL PLIGHT"
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
astroglide wrote:
Aside: even if Alix didn't need to be rezzed, isn't it the *only* card in the game that could be advanced via installations?
It isn't getting advanced, it's getting power counters.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Justin
United States
Creve Coeur
MO
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
fnord3125 wrote:
astroglide wrote:
Aside: even if Alix didn't need to be rezzed, isn't it the *only* card in the game that could be advanced via installations?
It isn't getting advanced, it's getting power counters.

I guess that distinction matters for those that use more than the 1-credit tokens :-) Point being, the only card that gets automatic additions of any kind of counter.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Patrick Jamet
France
Paris
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Any idea about my question, please ?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Lieffring
United States
Athens
Georgia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Pyjam wrote:
Any idea about my question, please ?

Unless you figure out a way to install an Asset rezzed.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Justin
United States
Creve Coeur
MO
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
2097 wrote:
One frustratingly hard way to detect cheat is those who place agendas (when they have too many in hand) as ice, never rezzing them and hoping for no exposing there. It is not legal but how to detect it unless there is a third party that the corp can show the cards to, to prove that they were really ice?

Or rule that all cards (HQ, R&D, archives, table) get exposed at the end of the match.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Justin
United States
Creve Coeur
MO
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
2097 wrote:
And then I know for sure that you're only running two Snare!

Because my entire deck is in play?

If it's a casual game, maybe it isn't a concern.

If it's a tournament, maybe it is a concern. And repeat matches are rare.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Patrick Jamet
France
Paris
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
IncompleteUserNa wrote:
Pyjam wrote:
Any idea about my question, please ?

Unless you figure out a way to install an Asset rezzed.

Also, I'm not sure if I may use Shipment from MirrorMorph to install Alix first and immediately rez it or if I must complete the Shipment action first.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
1 , 2  Next »   | 
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.