Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
15 Posts

Here I Stand» Forums » Rules

Subject: HIS Errata now has a home rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ed Beach
United States
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
I posted the initial set of errata here:
http://home.comcast.net/~ebeach/errata.htm

This page will be updated if anything else is found. I'm also working on a FAQ that will be linked from that page.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nando Ferrari
Italy
Verona
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Hi Ed,

our group is playing your wonderful game (and I'm selling too... I'm the Italian GMT distributor). We have a question about the alliances/peace sequence: if France and England are at war can the 2 powers ally and do peace in the same turn? Following the sequence of play it seems the all dealings (enclosing alliances) must be done BEFORE the peace step, but on the rules (9.1) we read: "two powers may form an alliance for exactly one turn (Section 9.2), but not if they are currently at war and are not agreeing to end that war (see above)". From this sentence it seems that when you annouce your dealings you can delcare an alliance, anticipating that one of the 2 powers will sue for peace in the following step. It is correct?
Thank you and congratulations for your effort!

Nando Ferrari
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jon Dieringer
United States
Schenectady
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
You can mutually agree to stop the war without the sue for peace step at the beginning of the diplomacy phase.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ed Beach
United States
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Nando: Jefferson's response is correct. The agreement to end the war would have to be part of the agreement made between the powers in the Negotiation Segment (and then they immediately add on the agreement to ally).

Suing for peace occurs in the next segment of the Diplomacy Phase.

So this is legal, but no power can gain War Winner VP in such a situation. You only earn those VP when a power is forced to sue for peace (and can't strike a negotiated deal to end the war).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Philip Thomas
United Kingdom
London
London
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In the 1532 set-up, it is stated that there are 19 Protestant spaces.

Which are they?

(I'm guessing 16 of them are the spaces in Germany which lack Hapsburg control markers).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul - the
Sweden
Lund
flag msg tools
My name is Ozymandias, King of Kings; Look on my Works, ye Mighty, and despair!
badge
You spin me right round, baby - Right round like a record, baby - Right round round round - You spin me right round, baby…
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The other 3 are Breslau, Basel and Zürich.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Philip Thomas
United Kingdom
London
London
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ah, right! Yeah I now see the coding...thanks
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Philip Thomas
United Kingdom
London
London
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The Protestant Home Card...can it be used for a card the Protestants just played.

e.g, Luther plays Printing Press. He then plays Here I Stand to play Printing Press again, giving him +2 dice on all Reformation rolls.

Or, Luther plays Printing Press, he then plays Here I Stand to hold Printing Press and get it again next turn, thus having the Printing Press bonus all game long...

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tobias Roehl
Germany
Mainz-Kastel
flag msg tools
My GeekBadge is still empty...
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Philip:

Quote:
The Protestant Home Card...can it be used for a card the Protestants just played.

e.g, Luther plays Printing Press. He then plays Here I Stand to play Printing Press again, giving him +2 dice on all Reformation rolls.

Or, Luther plays Printing Press, he then plays Here I Stand to hold Printing Press and get it again next turn, thus having the Printing Press bonus all game long...


No, that doesn't work.

From the rulebook, page 9:

Quote:
Discard Pile: Cards are always placed in the discard pile if they
lack the text “Remove from deck...” Event cards with this text are
also placed in the discard pile if they are played for CP, rather than
as an event. Two of the cards in the game (Here I Stand and Papal
Inquisition) can be exchanged for a card selected from those currently
in the discard pile. There are a few restrictions on these retrievals
from the discard pile:
• Mandatory Events may never be retrieved from the discard pile,
and
A power may never retrieve a card from the discard pile that this
same power played as an Event, Response or Combat card earlier
in the turn.



Hope I could help you!

Edit: changed the formatting a bit.
 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Philip Thomas
United Kingdom
London
London
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks Tobi, that is very helpful!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ed Beach
United States
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
I've been slowly adding to the FAQ over the past week. I'm not sure if anyone has been going over there and has noticed.

Anyway, I think I'm now finished with this round of updates. Check it out here:
http://home.comcast.net/~ebeach/faq.htm
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ed Beach
United States
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
I just added two items to the HIS errata. See the blue text on the page below:

http://home.comcast.net/~ebeach/errata.htm

The first change is a minor one where a procedure number was referenced wrong.

The other (long) item covers movement into a space containing units from another power. The previous wording did not adequately address some of the odd cases we saw come up very late in playtesting (after the rulebook went to print). Examples include:
- movement into a space where one ally has another ally under siege.
- movement into a space where one enemy has another enemy under siege.
- movement into a space where an ally (or enemy) has a neutral power under siege (or vice versa)

The intent of the revised rule is to not allow movement into a space where allegiances will be unclear. The rule weight required to try and resolve such conditions was just too much. So three-way wars in a space just aren't allowed.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ed Beach
United States
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
I spent a good chunk of time yesterday going through emails, posts to this forum, and posts on Consimworld to comprehensively update the HIS errata and FAQ pages.

That update is now complete.

Here are the links to the new pages on my web site:
http://home.comcast.net/~ebeach/errata.htm
http://home.comcast.net/~ebeach/faq.htm

I think the most important ruling I made yesterday was that Hapsburg fortresses created in Germany prior to the creation of the Schmalkaldic League stay in Hapsburg hands after the SL is formed. A nice little way to create a bastion against the spread of heresy with the Trace Italienne card...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ed Beach
United States
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
As you can see from this thread, it had been about six months (late October) since I had updated the HIS Errata and FAQ. So it was time for another revision.

You can check out the updates (in blue text) here as usual:
http://home.comcast.net/~ebeach/errata.htm
http://home.comcast.net/~ebeach/faq.htm

Nothing critical in there (mostly clarifications of unusual cases), but I thought it would be best to get these posted before the PBEM tournament we've just started gets to the first Action Phase.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ed Beach
United States
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Well it has now been two full years since the last Here I Stand Errata/FAQ update.

This one should be pretty comprehensive. I went through all my accumulated emails and all posts on BGG and Consimworld that mentioned the errata or FAQ. I also checked in with all the HIS tournament GMs and we went through Greg Forster's "Frequently Misplayed Rules" document.

You can find the updates here (same spot as usual):

http://home.comcast.net/~ebeach/errata.htm
http://home.comcast.net/~ebeach/faq.htm
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.