Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

The Lord of the Rings: The Card Game – Khazad-dûm» Forums » Rules

Subject: Burning Low rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Frank Otte
Germany
Münster
Nordrhein-Westfalen
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Burning Low: "When Revealed: Each enemy and location currently in the staging area gets +1 Threat until the end of the phase. (+3 Threat instead if it is a Dark location.) Players may exhaust a Cave Torch to cancel this effect."

Am I right in the assumption, that the effect of Burning Low does not affect enemies and locations, which come into play after "Burning Low", because it is a Revealed effect and says "currently"?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Howard
United States
Marina del Rey
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yeah, that's exactly how I read it.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Cardboard of the Rings LOTR LCG Podcast
Canada
Toronto (Scarborough)
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The FAQ has clarified that there's a distinction between cards that use the term "currently," and those that omit it - if memory serves, an example of the latter would be Treacherous Fog. If you allow Burning Low to resolve, any subsequent reveals do not benefit from its effect, whereas with a card like Treacherous Fog, the treachery influences the staging area for the remainder of the quest phase.

Edit: the relevant text on Treacherous Fog reads "When Revealed: Each location in the staging area gets +1 Threat until the end of the phase."
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.