Popular Tags: [View All]
Chris Puram
United States
Wilsonville
Oregon
flag msg tools
Let's meet up for games and coffee!
badge
Golden... As in Oldie! I'm new to the Portland area and looking for gamers to game with and new gaming groups to join! I'm 50+ and like most games but do have a special affinity for dry, cube pushing euros!
mbmbmbmbmb
I REALLY like euro games. My collection is filled with euro games. I have really liked some hybrid games like Eclipse, Kemet and even Spartacus and am wondering if I'm missing some great games by ignoring most thematic games.

So what I am looking for are some recommendations of non-euro games that might still appeal to someone who tends to love the strategy in dry "boring" euros and hates games driven by lots of luck and unmitigated dice rolling.

I'm not even sure if this question makes sense but appreciate any input or recommendations.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thomas
United States
Michigan
flag msg tools
badge
"Music That Glows In The Dark"
mbmbmbmbmb
Check out this geek list:

Bridging the gap between euro and Ameritrash

Some highlights:

Yedo
Eclipse
Seasons
Cyclades
Ninjato
Clash of Cultures
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel Schwartzkopf
United States
Orange
CA
flag msg tools
admin
badge
The science of history is a great bulwark against the stream of Time; in a way it checks this irresistible flood, it holds in a tight grasp whatever it can seize floating on the surface and will not allow it to slip away into the depths of oblivion
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm a Euro gamer and Star Trek: Fleet Captains really REALLY works for me. Random things happen, you roll some dice, but for some reason it doesn't piss me off as much as it does in other games wit ha heavy luck component.

There are plenty of decisions to be made still - hand management, action point allowances, figuring out what power settings to use to balance what offense and defense....And it's VERY thematic. Really feels like a season of Star Trek.