Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

Android: Netrunner» Forums » Rules

Subject: Omni Drive and Djinn Hosting? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Tobin Lopes
United States
Thornton
Dark Side of the Moon
flag msg tools
Serving the Emperor since 1971
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Omni drive: Omni-drive can host a single program of 1 [Memory Unit] or less. The memory cost of the hosted program does not count against your memory limit.

1 [Recurring Credits]
Use this credit to pay for using the hosted program.

Djinn: Djinn can host up to 3 [Memory Units] of non-icebreaker programs.
The memory costs of hosted programs do not count against your memory limit.
[Click], 1 [Credits]: Search your stack for a virus program, reveal it, and add it to your grip. Shuffle your stack.

So I don't think it would work but could a Djinn installed on Omni host 3 MU of programs itself?

If yes, I know the Omni cred could only go toward Djinn and not other progs installed on Djinn...

I know the rule that a card can only be hosted on one card (no Parasites on Djinn, etc) but what about "nested" hosting?

I'm guessing it wouldn't...

-tpl
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Aleksi Laitinen
Finland
flag msg tools
Avatar
There is no rule that says that hosting can't be nested.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ony Moose
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
That's allowed, a Djinn can also host other Djinn, so you could have an Omni-Drive hosting a Djinn hosting a Djinn hosting a Djinn! But then a powergrid overload will make you cry.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pavlos Pavlopoulos
United Kingdom
London
flag msg tools
mbmb
What in the rules leads you to believe that this wouldn't be possible?

You can host programs on an omni-drived Djinn, in the same way that you can nest Djinns. The credit can only be used for the Djinn though, since that is the program hosted on the Omni-Drive. Also, if the Omni-Drive gets trashed the Djinn and everything it, in turn, is hosting gets trashed.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tobin Lopes
United States
Thornton
Dark Side of the Moon
flag msg tools
Serving the Emperor since 1971
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks folks.

-tpl
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alex Rockwell
United States
Lynnwood
Washington
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
tobinlopes wrote:

I'm guessing it wouldn't...


When there are no rules saying that something can't happen, you should guess that it probably can!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lucas Townsend
United States
Rock Hill
South Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Kandiru wrote:
Djinn hosting a Djinn hosting a Djinn


DJINNCEPTION.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nite Wolf
Sweden
Göteborg
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Alexfrog wrote:
When there are no rules saying that something can't happen, you should guess that it probably can!


I'd probably rephrase that to something in the terms of: When there's no exceptions mentioned to rules saying something can't happen, you should guess that it probably can". Otherwise we're back to discussions about advancing cards in your HQ or the like.

Edit: removing unnecessary quote bits
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brodie
United States
KC
Missouri
flag msg tools
mb
Empires wrote:
Kandiru wrote:
Djinn hosting a Djinn hosting a Djinn


DJINNCEPTION.


 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ben Finkel
United States
Washington
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Had a triply nested Djinn last night, nearly fully loaded. The concept of an Archer was terrifying. But it's so pretty.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nick Ingram
United States
Washington
flag msg tools
Alexfrog wrote:

When there are no rules saying that something can't happen, you should guess that it probably can!


I thought the rule that you cant discard from your hand whenever you want was because the rule book didn't say you could.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.