The author has incorrectly interpreted the goods cube delivery action (goods must be delivered within a single action, not within a multi-action turn as written in the FAQ).
Reread the FAQ. It may not be worded as clearly as possible, but it is mostly accurate. He has confused rounds and turns in one paragraph, though it is not in the crucial one (and, to be honest, I don't think I have played a game of this yet where round and turn haven't been used interchangeably by at least half of the players). In particular, the FAQ reads:
The train level determines the number of links you can travel in one round. You must deliver the goods in one round (as opposed to a full turn which consists of 3 rounds).
That is accurate. Where a chance for confusion arises is in the next paragraph, which reads:
So if you have a level 3 train, you can travel three links in one turn, not counting the departure city (that is, from city A to city B to city C to end at city D).
He should have used the word round rather than turn, but the first paragraph is very clear.