Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Imperial 2030» Forums » Rules

Subject: Can a Country Inherit Territories?? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
United States
DPO
US Armed Forces - Pacific
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
We had a situation tonight where one player controlled both Europe and Russia. Russia had control over and occupied the Ukraine and Turkey with one tank each. On Europe's turn the player chose 'maneuver' on the rondel and had Europe move one 'friendly' tank into the Ukraine and Turkey. On Russia's turn the player chose 'maneuver' and withdrew his tanks from Turkey and the Ukraine and proceeded to claim that the territories now belonged to Europe since they occupy the territory with a tank. Here is where our question lies. If a country withdraws from a territory with another country's 'friendly' unit also in the same territory, does the friendly unit 'inherit' the territory and take possession of it? We could only find references of taking possession of a territory while maneuvering in the rule book, so we deemed that part of the players action illegal.

The player was attempting to make the move so that Europe's next move (Taxation) would push them into the next power level. A very clever way to do it, but we weren't sure if it was legal or not.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carsten Loehn
Germany
Kleinostheim
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
At the end of a maneuver phase it is checked, if control of territories change. If there is only one nation in a territory it gains control of it. If there are armies of more then one nation the control does not change, even if the original controller has no armies in it.

For you example: if Russia withdraws and the EU is the only nation with an army in the territory, EU gains control of it at the end of the maneuver phase. Such a move happens often in Imperial if a player controls two nations.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
DPO
US Armed Forces - Pacific
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the clarification!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.