Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Dave Riedy
United States
Glen Ridge
New Jersey
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Well, this has been a good week for me. Got several new, quick design gigs and got a new full-time freelance design job after many months of looking. To celebrate I'm going to place my first large-sized order for games.

I'm relatively new to the pasttime obsession and am trying to bring my friends in as well, and organize regular Game Nights. (Most of them are poker players, and open to the idea of gaming.) So far I've gotten people to play Carcassonne and Bang!, and pulled one friend in with Memoir '44 -- all of which have been met with enthusiasm. My wife and I have also played Samurai and Cartagena -- we like Samurai more.

Anyway, here's what I'm thinking for The Purchase -- trying to get titles that aren't too brain-intensive, have lots of theme (everyone loves Bang! for its theme), and make a good mixture of card/board games, since most people come from a card player background. (For Purchase #2, in several months, I'll up the Brain Burn Quotient)

Memoir '44: Terrain Pack (& new board)
Plunder -- this or Pirate's Cove?
Gloom
Killer Bunnies
Fearsome Floors
Mystery of the Abbey

Thoughts? Suggestions? Anecdotes?

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J. Green
United States
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Just a couple thoughts.

First, Killer Bunny is a very unsatisfying game, even for a light game loaded with theme. You could play for hours and the endgame is always just a complete crapshoot.

Second, if you're going to get Mem '44 terrain pack and board, might as well get the eastern front expansion also. I think if you take the plunge on any given game, be prepared to buy all its expansions. Conversely, I'm very picky about which games I select, anticipating future expansions.