Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Shadows over Camelot» Forums » Rules

Subject: Discard cards for expired quests rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jim Cote
United States
Maine
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Rules page 11...

"If the Quest for a given Black card is no longer in play (once played, the Quests for Excalibur, the Holy Grail, and Lancelot & the Dragon, are all turned over or removed), a Siege Engine is immediately added to Camelot in lieu of the card being played. The card is then discarded onto the discard pile. Do not play a card on the board itself, where the graphic is just a reminder of the card’s effect."

What does the text in blue mean? Is it just redundant? On what board could you "accidentally" play the card?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Newman
United States
Portland
Oregon
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
In other words, the Grail and Excalibur boards are turned over, and there's just a single graphic. The Lancelot/Dragon board just stays where it is. You don't play the cards onto the boards; you keep them circulating in the black card discard pile, so they keep coming back up.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marc Hartstein
United States
North Plainfield
New Jersey
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The back sides of the Excalibur and Holy Grail quests have a graphic which is the right size and shape for a black card (with the quest's symbol in it) and an arrow pointing to a siege engine symbol.

The text you've highlighted is intended to remind players that black cards for these quests go directly to the discard pile when they add a siege engine. Even though there is a space on the board where they might go, they are not placed there.

Otherwise, players might put them there when they play those cards. They might further be confused about whether they are to be shuffled in when the cards are next reshuffled (as there's no event removing them from the board and moving them to the discard pile). It's not simply redundant, although I don't know likely people are to be confused.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.