Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Advance to Boardwalk» Forums » Rules

Subject: roll too low rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
skrebs
United States
Davis
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I've played this game several times but recently ran into the following and I just can't find the answer in the rules. What happens if I roll green and 2? I can't buy anything so do I just pass the dice?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Allen Doum
United States
Orange County
California
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
skrebs wrote:
I've played this game several times but recently ran into the following and I just can't find the answer in the rules. What happens if I roll green and 2? I can't buy anything so do I just pass the dice?


Either that or reroll. Either way, it is a house rule. I would prefer the reroll rather that completely stiffing a player.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Nerman
Canada
Winnipeg
Manitoba
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
skrebs wrote:
I've played this game several times but recently ran into the following and I just can't find the answer in the rules. What happens if I roll green and 2? I can't buy anything so do I just pass the dice?


I think technically you wouldn't be able to buy anything and would have to pass, unless you had a card to play, of course.

Re-rolling sounds like a better option, so you might consider house ruling that in.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thomas Tholén
Sweden
Norsborg
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
nerman8r wrote:
skrebs wrote:
I've played this game several times but recently ran into the following and I just can't find the answer in the rules. What happens if I roll green and 2? I can't buy anything so do I just pass the dice?


I think technically you wouldn't be able to buy anything and would have to pass, unless you had a card to play, of course.

Re-rolling sounds like a better option, so you might consider house ruling that in.
'

But the rules also tells you that you need to buy a hotel every turn. It doesn't go together...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
    Conserve energy:     Play Board Games!
United States
California
flag msg tools
designer
Some say the world will end in fire, Some say in ice. From what I’ve tasted of desire I hold with those who favor fire. But if it had to perish twice, I think I know enough of hate To say that for destruction ice Is also great And would suffice.
badge
Shake your business up and pour it. I don't have all day.
Avatar
mb
AllenDoum wrote:
skrebs wrote:
I've played this game several times but recently ran into the following and I just can't find the answer in the rules. What happens if I roll green and 2? I can't buy anything so do I just pass the dice?

Either that or reroll. Either way, it is a house rule. I would prefer the reroll rather that completely stiffing a player.

I just salvaged this game from my mother's house. While playing it tonight with my son, we ran into this situation. I agree that any solution will be a house rule, because the rules are mute on this point. Our approach was to treat an "under funded roll" as an opportunity to pick up a Fortune card. You don't have to build if you roll an "F," so this solution worked well for us.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
R.J.
United States
Citrus Heights
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
As far as this situation, the rules are definitely confusing... on one hand it says "You must build at least one unit on a turn" (under section 2, Conditions to Building)... but near the beginning in the Order-of-Turn reference guide, it says "Build a unit(s) if possible" meaning that it may be impossible to build a unit.

I would venture to guess that the "You must build" means that you must build if it is possible (and there may be cases where it is not possible). [basically, to stop people, for whatever reason, choosing not to build when they can].
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tim Johnson
United States
DENVER
Colorado
flag msg tools
Hoarders: BGG Edition
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
When we started playing this game, we noticed the "under-roll" and the "green property" problem/error, and have always played the game using a roll of 2d6 plus 2.

Since I discovered that my Casino Yahtzee game has dice numbered 2-7, I thrifted another copy, and we just temporarily borrow those dice when we play Advance to Boardwalk.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alfred
Netherlands
Noord-Brabant
flag msg tools
Avatar
mb
It may all have been due to the design process?

The initial rules didn't have an under-roll problem to begin with. By using a 2-7 distribution on two more 'special' dice, the design team produced an elegant game with a comprehensive set of rules. Then the publisher wanted to cut production costs, scrapping the idea of two special 2-7 dice and replacing them with cheaper, mass produced, regular D6's.
Back to the rules... Changes were made, stating: "Build a unit(s) if possible". But the example of 3+7=10 was forgotten in the rush (or deliberately left in by a frustrated designer).

Sounds plausible no?

Anyway, it is easily fixed by agreeing before game start. Either choose regular D6's and accept the small chance of a no-build turn. Or use a 2-7 distribution on the dice (source replacements, add two to a roll, or treat 1's as 7's).

I haven't played the game yet, but I find treating 1's as 7's the most elegant solution.

Question: Does a higher pip count noticably change the game? It should make it a bit quicker at least?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.