Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Carcassonne: King & Scout» Forums » Rules

Subject: Equal length road, who gets Baron? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Chong Ly Hoang
Australia
flag msg tools
It says the player who completes the longest road keeps the baron token. What happens when someone already has a road say 10 tiles long, and another player completes a road of the same length? who gets the baron? is it shared? or is it void?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nathan Morse
United States
Powell
Ohio
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Just like with the king, if someone builds a road longer than any existing road, then she takes the robber baron. I believe they merely stated the rule for the robber baron more briefly for simplicity.

So, in your example, the second player who completed a 10-road gets nothing for his efforts, unfortunately, other than 10 points (or 0 or 20, if he had an inn on the road).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Perry
United States
Spring Hill
Tennessee
flag msg tools
badge
Ex-Term-In-Ate
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Correct. When a road is constructed that is longer than a previous road then the baron changes hands. If you get a road that is the same length, the baron remains where he was.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chong Ly Hoang
Australia
flag msg tools
Yes I thought about that too, quite logical now that i think about it blush Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nathan Morse
United States
Powell
Ohio
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Don't sweat it! We all have those moments.
meeple
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Jordal
United States
Austin
Minnesota
flag msg tools
badge
Ike Clanton painted by me for Wild West Exodus
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
What about if you one person currently has completed a four length road as the longest and both players have a 5 length uncompleted road that gets completed with an end piece that ends both of them at the same time?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
A L D A R O N
United States
Cambridge
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
A L D A R O N
badge
----[---->+<]>++.+++++++++++.--------.---.>-[--->+<]>---.---.-.
Avatar
mb
Drew1365 wrote:
The Robber Baron and King go to the player who completes that feature, not necessarily the player who scores it.

Correct, see Step 1 in my rules summary*:

Aldaron's Rules Summary wrote:
If the [just-placed] tile completes [...] a road that covers more tiles than any other completed road, [the placing player] takes the robber baron token.

* http://www.aldaron.com/sciencegames/carcassonne/ (PDF)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Jordal
United States
Austin
Minnesota
flag msg tools
badge
Ike Clanton painted by me for Wild West Exodus
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Oh, I see. So you might want to complete an opponent's feature. Hmmmm.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Newman
United States
Portland
Oregon
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Jormi_Boced wrote:
Oh, I see. So you might want to complete an opponent's feature. Hmmmm.


Same with the trade goods. Whomever completes the city gets the trade goods, which may or may not be the person who scores for the city.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.