Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

RoboRally» Forums » Rules

Subject: Lasers while powered down? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Eric Johnson
United States
Los Angeles
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Does a powered down robot fire a laser?

--Loudon Head
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Devin Smith
England
Southampton
Hampshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No, nor options which fire in lieu of a laser.

--DHS
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave Kudzma
United States
Millsboro
Delaware
flag msg tools
designer
People are...
badge
SPOCKED!!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
But you still get blasted to crap by them while you're powered down.....damn them....
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Brosius
United States
Needham Heights
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
My favorite 18xx game for six players is two games of 1846 with three players each.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I looked in the rules to try to find the answer to this question, and I couldn't find anything that said lasers don't fire when the robot is powered down. It seemed, then, that they do fire.

Is there something in the rules I missed, or is it a rules clarification? (I own the new AH version.)

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Newman
United States
Portland
Oregon
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
The Wizards of the Coast edition has this on page 29:

"A powered-down robot is completely shut down -- it can't fire weapons, tag checkpoints, or update its archive location, nor can it acquire or use option cards."
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
LotB 2002
Netherlands
Utrecht
Unspecified
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I have to admit, neither can I find it in the AH rules.

However I second that the 1st, the 2nd edition and the German edition rule a powered down robot is a sitting duck, not able to shoot or do anything.

JeVo
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Philip Thomas
United Kingdom
London
London
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
We certainly played no lasers today (my first game) We did have one guy power down in a double laser thoughlaugh
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.