Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Jambo» Forums » Rules

Subject: Placing a 4th utility card rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: jambo [+] [View All]
Craig Blumer
United States
Oshkosh
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If a player has 3 utility cards in play, to play a 4th utility card the player must discard one utility to make room for the 4th. Does the player have to pay an action marker to discard the utility, in addition to the payment of an action marker for laying down the new utility?

Thanks,

Craig
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thomas Eastside, Esq.
United States
Richmond Hts.
Ohio
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Actions associated with the text of an event do not generally cost an additonal action. So I would say that the discard of the selected utility does not result in a used action.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Shawn Low
Australia
Footscray
Victoria
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
wyldeoak wrote:
If a player has 3 utility cards in play, to play a 4th utility card the player must discard one utility to make room for the 4th. Does the player have to pay an action marker to discard the utility, in addition to the payment of an action marker for laying down the new utility?

Thanks,

Craig


Jambo is a great game. : )

Anyway, you don't have to pay an action market to discard the utility. You just spend one action of put out the new utility and in place of one you discard.

A tip: you can actually spend an action to use the utility before you replace it with the 4th (now 3rd) utility.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
W. Eric Martin
United States
Apex
North Carolina
flag msg tools
admin
designer
badge
Avatar
Craig, just to pile on: Discarding a utility card to make room for another is not an action. You use an action to lay down a utility card, but if you already have three in play, you must discard one utility first to make room for the new one. This is all one action.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.