Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Vampire: Prince of the City» Forums » Rules

Subject: Questions Arising From First Time Playing rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Christopher O
Canada
Toronto
Ontario
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Summer grasses / All that remains / Of soldiers' dreams. - Basho.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Played the game for the first time with a group of four last night. Everyone seemed to enjoy it, but we had an odd finish. More about that later.

For now, a few questions which came up during the course of play:

Question 1. Declaring whether to assist in a challenge. At a few points during play, especially during event challenges, players weren’t sure if they wanted to aid a player until they knew who else was assisting. We ruled that declaration of assistance or non-assistance should proceed clockwise from the acting player. Rule 7 on page 12 of the rules says that “declarations are determined in order from the Regent, clockwise”, but this does not seem to apply in this situation, as it is not a game effect being played or activated. It does not seem appropriate, especially if the Regent is, say, seated immediately to the right of the acting player.

Example: The event “Rival Racketeers” is in play, with a Territorial Difficulty of 24. Albert controls 6 zones. Brian controls 8. Carla controls 5 and Darren controls 4. Brian is the Regent, but it is Darren’s challenge. He declares he is challenging Rival Racketeers. Both Albert and Carla want the event to be discarded, since they have more ground to make up. Brian doesn’t really want the card to be discarded, but he also knows that he’ll lose out on the 4 point prestige award if they actually have a chance at beating the challenge. They are seated clockwise: Albert, Brian, Carla, Darren. Darren just declared the challenge. Who must decide first if they are assisting or not: Albert or Brian?

Question 2. Use of Domination out of Range. Can dominate be used to roll an additional die in an influence contest over a zone even outside the same hex/adjacent hex ranges from the miniature? We ruled it could, but a confirmation would be good. Also, can dominate be used to roll a die to contest even when other factors would not permit a contest? We ruled no.

Example: Jason is trying to take over City Hall. There are no influence markers on City Hall, and he bids a single token. Sean (controlling the Ventrue) has a single token already in the City Courts, giving him control of the zone. He contests Jason’s placement in City Hall. His miniature is in the Slums. Can he use Dominate to spend one vitae to roll one die (and add one for his single token in the Courts) in the influence contest. Given the same situation, but minus Sean’s single token in the Courts, Sean may not use Dominate since he is out of range, and he controls no zone in the same color category, correct?

Question 3. Use of “Gift of Vitae” equipment card. The card states: “discard from play to simultaneously re-roll up to three different dice during an influence contest.” May these dice belong to the opponent or a combination of dice belonging to the player playing the Gift of Vitae card and one or more opponents?

Example: Christine is rolling an influence contest against Mike. Christine has one marker already on the space and Mike has two. Christine bids two influence markers, Mike is unable to bid more. No other modifiers affect the situation. Christine is rolling three dice and Mike is rolling two. Christine rolls 7, 2, and 1. Mike rolls 10 and 3. Christine plays “Gift of Vitae”. She wants to re-roll her 2 and 1 and force Mike to re-roll his 10. Is this permitted?

Question 4. Can Animalism be used in Social and Mental challenges? From a straight reading of the ability on the cards, apparently so, even though this doesn’t seem to make as much sense from a thematic point of view. We ruled that animalism can be used for physical, social or mental challenges.

Example: Frederico is in the metro underground, controlling the Gangrel. His opponent, Karen, is in the Sewers. Frederico declares a mental challenge against Karen, two zones away. Is this permitted?

We played a 6 turn game in 2 hours and forty minutes, including about a 20 minute game explanation. We had a number of event cards come up early in the game, which slowed us down quite a bit as we tried to overcome them as well as figure out what they affected.

In the end, the score was Shemp 39, Kozure 36, Agent Easy 32 and Hapi 25. However, Shemp was put into torpor by last round blood loss (there was a Vitae Curse). In addition, the Leech Troublemaker event had also recently come into play, and Kozure (me) with one vitae left, rolled a 3. Fortunately, Agent Easy rolled a 2, and we were spared the indignity of the third place finisher coming in first due to bad die rolls.

Good little game - just a few rules clarifications required.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Nudd
United Kingdom
London
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Kozure wrote:
At a few points during play, especially during event challenges, players weren’t sure if they wanted to aid a player until they knew who else was assisting.


The simple answer to that is to discuss it to find out.

Kozure wrote:
We ruled that declaration of assistance or non-assistance should proceed clockwise from the acting player. Rule 7 on page 12 of the rules says that “declarations are determined in order from the Regent, clockwise”, but this does not seem to apply in this situation


That may have been a production slip. Read 'Regent' as 'acting player' and your treatment is correct.


Kozure wrote:
Example: The event “Rival Racketeers” is in play, with a Territorial Difficulty of 24. Albert controls 6 zones. Brian controls 8. Carla controls 5 and Darren controls 4. Brian is the Regent, but it is Darren’s challenge. He declares he is challenging Rival Racketeers. Both Albert and Carla want the event to be discarded, since they have more ground to make up. Brian doesn’t really want the card to be discarded, but he also knows that he’ll lose out on the 4 point prestige award if they actually have a chance at beating the challenge. They are seated clockwise: Albert, Brian, Carla, Darren. Darren just declared the challenge. Who must decide first if they are assisting or not: Albert or Brian?


Darren should ask Albert first, then Brian, and so on (as above).

Kozure wrote:
Question 2. Use of Domination out of Range. Can dominate be used to roll an additional die in an influence contest over a zone even outside the same hex/adjacent hex ranges from the miniature? We ruled it could, but a confirmation would be good. Also, can dominate be used to roll a die to contest even when other factors would not permit a contest? We ruled no.


I will check this in both cases.

Kozure wrote:
Question 3. Use of “Gift of Vitae” equipment card. The card states: “discard from play to simultaneously re-roll up to three different dice during an influence contest.” May these dice belong to the opponent or a combination of dice belonging to the player playing the Gift of Vitae card and one or more opponents?


The card should be played as read. The dice can be any that are rolled by any player during the contest.

I realise this could be tricky in practice if between you you're rolling more than the five D10s provided in the box, but at the same time an enterprising gamer should have some spare D10s knocking around at home if they're needed... (As an aside note that I didn't get any say of how many dice were included in the print copy)

Kozure wrote:

Question 4. Can Animalism be used in Social and Mental challenges? From a straight reading of the ability on the cards, apparently so, even though this doesn’t seem to make as much sense from a thematic point of view. We ruled that animalism can be used for physical, social or mental challenges.


That is correct.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christopher O
Canada
Toronto
Ontario
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Summer grasses / All that remains / Of soldiers' dreams. - Basho.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
mikelosaurus wrote:
Kozure wrote:
At a few points during play, especially during event challenges, players weren�t sure if they wanted to aid a player until they knew who else was assisting.


The simple answer to that is to discuss it to find out.

Kozure wrote:
We ruled that declaration of assistance or non-assistance should proceed clockwise from the acting player. Rule 7 on page 12 of the rules says that �declarations are determined in order from the Regent, clockwise�, but this does not seem to apply in this situation


That may have been a production slip. Read 'Regent' as 'acting player' and your treatment is correct.


Thanks for the clarifications, Mike. What we did was discuss first (as you suggest), then once discussion had occured, people declared their support in clockwise order from the acting player. This seemed to be the most reasonable way to proceed.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gael
France
Toulouse
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
Kozure wrote:
Question 2. Use of Domination out of Range. Can dominate be used to roll an additional die in an influence contest over a zone even outside the same hex/adjacent hex ranges from the miniature? We ruled it could, but a confirmation would be good. Also, can dominate be used to roll a die to contest even when other factors would not permit a contest? We ruled no.

Mike wrote:
I will check this in both cases.


Mike it's Garl, just to let you know, in our gameS we used Dominate within range (exactly as majesty, nightmare,auspex,majesty....) and it works fine.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.