Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Brett David Spain
United States
Lee's Summit
Missouri
flag msg tools
badge
Have I gone mad? I'm afraid so. You're entirely Bonkers. But I will tell you a secret, All the best people are.
mbmbmbmbmb
If I own a game published in a foreign language -- one foreign to me, the owner -- would I or would I not have a right to obtain a translation of the rules/components/etc. for the game? I would not be reselling the material; I simply would be "reading" it in a language other than what was sent with the game I own.

If you are able to post photos of games under "fair use," why not translated material?

If the publisher is not being cooperative, what other recourse would I have, if any, to obtain a set of components I could more easily use?

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Shaffer
United States
San Francisco
CA
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
IANAL (I am not a lawyer).

I don't think fair use applies in this case at all.

Posting photos of games isn't fair use. A photograph is an original object and the photographer holds the copyright to it.

Copyright concerns the right to copy and distribute materials. If someone else posts a document that violates copyright and you use the document, the poster is liable, not you. You didn't copy or distribute the materials - you simply read them.

Fair use allows you to make copies even if the copyright holder doesn't authorize it. In order to qualify for fair use, you must meet the four factor test: http://www.copyright.gov/fls/fl102.html

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brett David Spain
United States
Lee's Summit
Missouri
flag msg tools
badge
Have I gone mad? I'm afraid so. You're entirely Bonkers. But I will tell you a secret, All the best people are.
mbmbmbmbmb
OK, let's assume this isn't an issue involving fair use at all. What is the legal reason why I, as the owner of content, cannot obtain the same content in a different language.