Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

World of Warcraft: The Boardgame» Forums » Rules

Subject: Rule questions..bla bla rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
ian dalton
United States
vancouver
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmb
Ok, I just got the game and played a few rounds to see how it went. I was confused on some things…sorry if the seem remedial

First of all P1 refers to player 1, P2 refers to player 2, C1 refers to creature 1

When P1 and P2 join in a quest and P1 attacks first and is successful in killing the creature thus completing a quest. Does P1 and P2 share the XP, gold and extras even though P1 is the only one who fought?

If the same scenario above happens, does P2 use his action for attacking even though he never really attacked?

If there are two characters on one quest P1 attacks C1 and does not kill C1, C1 counter attacks and P1 loses one life, can that life lost go to P2 (player 2) instead. Then P2 attack?

Can P1 keep attacking till he is dead then P2 attack or does it go P1 then P2 then P1 then P2…?

Does both P1 and P2 attack before C1 counter attacks? Or does each separate attack get met with a counter attack?

Thank you!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike zebrowski
United States
Unspecified
Minnesota
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
Here is the sequence:

Player 1 (P1) and Player 2 (P2) are in the same region as a quest.

P1 takes a Challege action.
P1 invites P2 to group up.
P2 spends an action and joins the group.

First round of combat (go to page 28 of the rulebook and follow along):

Player 1 does the Dice Pool Step, Reroll Step, and Place Tokens Step of the combat round.

Player 2 does the Dice Pool Step, Reroll Step, and Place Tokens Step of the combat round.

After all players have completed the Attack Phase of the combat round, we go to the Defense Phase.

First, we check the number of hits in the damage box and kill off any monsters that we can.

Secondly, any surviving monsters do their damage against the players.
This is done by adding the surviving monsters' attack values and subtracting the number of tokens in the Defense Box. The players then divide the damage between their characters in any manner that they want, as long as all damage is accounted for.

Thirdly, if any players are still alive, the hit tokens from the Defense and Attrition boxes are moved to the Damage box and we see if it is enough to kill any remain monsters.

So, to answer your questions:
Quote:
When P1 and P2 join in a quest and P1 attacks first and is successful in killing the creature thus completing a quest. Does P1 and P2 share the XP, gold and extras even though P1 is the only one who fought?


If Player 2 was invited to the group and he spent the action to join, then he would get his share of the reward.

Quote:
If the same scenario above happens, does P2 use his action for attacking even though he never really attacked?


Player 2 has to spend his action before any dice are rolled. If he doesn't need to roll any dice, because Player 1 rolled well enough to finish the quest, then Player 2's action is wasted.

The answers to the other questions are answered above.

Mike Z
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
ian dalton
United States
vancouver
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmb
Thank you so much!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joel Yoder
United States
Chicago
Illinois
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Mike Zebrowski wrote:

First round of combat (go to page 28 of the rulebook and follow along):

Player 1 does the Dice Pool Step, Reroll Step, and Place Tokens Step of the combat round.

Player 2 does the Dice Pool Step, Reroll Step, and Place Tokens Step of the combat round.

After all players have completed the Attack Phase of the combat round, we go to the Defense Phase.



Note that Player 1 and Player 2 do not have to take their attack phases in this order. Player 2 could go first and then Player 1 if they decide. This can be very useful if one player is a low-energy using sort like a Paladin. He can go first, and if his rolls are good, his partner may not need to activate all of his abilities.

--Joel
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.