Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

War of the Ring: Battles of the Third Age» Forums » Rules

Subject: Retreating an Army rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Dave J McWeasely
United States
Louisville
Kentucky
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmb
Rulebook p16 wrote:
Retreating an Army
An Army retreats when the defender has used the Regroup tactics token and decides to end the battle.

An Army may retreat to an adjacent Region which
* does not contain an enemy Army, or an enemy-controlled Settlement or Stronghold; and
* is not adjacent to a Region containing the enemy Army (including the attacking Army); and
* is not beyond a Stream or Ford border.


Even if the requirements above are not fulfilled, an Army may always retreat to an adjacent Region with a friendly Army (in this case, if you have more than five Units there after the retreat, immediately remove any Unit in excess), or a friendly-controlled Settlement or Stronghold.


If no such Region is available, the attacker chooses any one free adjacent Region to move the retreating Army to, the retreating Army suffers one additional Damage. If no adjacent free Region is available, retreat is not allowed.


So, to untangle the order of paragraphs a little, the places an army can retreat are:

1) Any adjacent region with a friendly settlement, stronghold, or army, even across streams etc.
2) adjacent free regions not across bodies of water and not adjacent to hostiles
3) only if nothing else is available yet: adjacent free regions across streams/fords and/or adjacent to hostiles. In this case take an extra point of damage.

Am I reading this right?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sean McCarthy
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, and note that if you don't have a happy place to retreat to, your opponent chooses for you.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.