Popular Tags: [View All]
George Van Voorn
Netherlands
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Game: Mare Nostrum
Date: Saturday March 11th, 2006
Players: Daniel (Carthage), Marije (Egypt), Elsbeth (Greece), and myself (Rome)

This really is a short session report, but that's because the game was short...

After quickly explaining the rules, we randomly drew peoples. I ended up with Rome, the first good shot at winning this game since I started playing it. Somehow I never seem to win multiplayer games (this one not excluded), but this time it seemed I would have a chance.

Now, people who’ve read one of my threads or my review on this game know I’m always whining about people not trading in this game. Ironically, there was so much trading this game that it was too much, but this will become apparent at the end of this report.

As usual, Egypt started with the Statesman, Carthage with the Commercial Director, and Rome with the General. Greece and Carthage were allowed to do the adjusted set-up. The first few turns trading was already quite high, and Greece built some forts so I lost the General to her. Trading really opened up when everybody had 10+ cards, and that’s when Carthage decided to trade 10 (!) cards. Marketplaces and temples were bought like there was no tomorrow and soon there were no chips left. I built some fleets and one pathetic legion, giving me control of the General again. My fleets sailed towards Egypt, and I was the only one with non-fort units on the map, except for Greece, who had two lousy ships.