Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Twilight Struggle» Forums » Rules

Subject: Another question on UN intervention rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Chris Spencer
United Kingdom
London
flag msg tools
Hope you can help with this one...

When UN Intervention is played on an action round to negate "We will bury you" from the previous action round, does the player still get the opportunity to use the card in its usual event fashion i.e. to negate an event card on THIS action round? Thus does UN Intervention negate two cards rather than one in this case?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
L. Scott Johnson
United States
Columbia
South Carolina
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The US player may play UN Intervention in its normal function (simultaneously with a USSR-associated event) on his next round, yes. Doing so will meet the requirements of We Will Bury You and so the USSR player will not gain 3VP from We Will Bury You.

The UN Intervention didn't technically cancel We Will Bury You, however -- the effect was still applied: DEFCON was reduced by 1 and the condition for 3VP was still checked, and We Will Bury You is still removed from the game.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Philip Thomas
United Kingdom
London
London
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Indeed, but what you cannot do is play Un Intervention for Ops to cancel We Will Bury You.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.