Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Clout Fantasy» Forums » Rules

Subject: Boost + Ambush rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Paul DeStefano
United States
Long Island
New York
flag msg tools
designer
badge
It's a Zendrum. www.zendrum.com
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ambush 3 on the table.

Defense 4 of opponent thrown in range.

Ambush player throws a boost, boosting the ambush to 4.

Neither the attacked piece nor the ambushing piece were just thrown, but does ambush suddenly become strong enough to wipe out the Defense 4 piece?


And


Are Strike and Ambush simultaneous?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adam Conus
United States
Renton
Washington
flag msg tools
Geosphere wrote:
Ambush 3 on the table.

Defense 4 of opponent thrown in range.

Ambush player throws a boost, boosting the ambush to 4.

Neither the attacked piece nor the ambushing piece were just thrown, but does ambush suddenly become strong enough to wipe out the Defense 4 piece?


And


Are Strike and Ambush simultaneous?


Ambush only 'triggers' when an opponent's chips rests(see rules page 33) near it. That pretty much means only on a turn where the chip was thrown. In your example, the Ambush is strong enough to remove the opponent's chip, but that chip isn't triggering it so it remains safe.

On a turn where a chip with Strike does trigger Ambush, they are effectively simultaneous. It is very, very common for a chip with Strike and a chip with Ambush to each take the other out.

In both cases, the rules have some fiddly details and a couple of exceptions which I don't want to get into here. I just covered what you wanted to know.

Clout rules questions are covered in depth on the Clout Forum at:
http://www.cloutfantasyusa.com/forum/index.php

In fact, this very morning as your message appeared I am in the process of doing a much needed rulings compilation.

Adam "Wildcard" Conus
Hidden City Games
Organized Play Manager
Website - http://www.hiddencitygames.com
Fling Into Action Blog - http://cloutfantasy.blogspot.com/
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul DeStefano
United States
Long Island
New York
flag msg tools
designer
badge
It's a Zendrum. www.zendrum.com
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
OK, simpler than I was expecting.

That word - RESTS - is what made me think it the other way.

I think you mean LANDS.

If a piece is just on the table, heck, 14 more turns can pass and that first piece RESTS there. RESTS implies doing nothing and for and unknown amount of time. Very different from COMING TO REST or LANDING.

If not RESTS, what term would you use for a chip that's already on the table and just sitting there? Considering the rules use the word LANDS everywhere else, we assumed REST meant something else.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul DeStefano
United States
Long Island
New York
flag msg tools
designer
badge
It's a Zendrum. www.zendrum.com
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I now see in the online FAQ that you actually redefine the word "rests" to mean the location it lands on the turn thrown. Odd to change the meaning of a word rather than use a prpoer word, but OK.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adam Conus
United States
Renton
Washington
flag msg tools
Geosphere wrote:
I now see in the online FAQ that you actually redefine the word "rests" to mean the location it lands on the turn thrown. Odd to change the meaning of a word rather than use a prpoer word, but OK.


I agree. The problem is the can chips move before standard abilities happen. The mechanics are:

Land->Move Abilities->Rest->Standard Abilties.

We needed a word for when they first land...Land. We needed another word for where they end up after they move, but still on the turn the chip was thrown...Rest. Land means the one thing and Rest means the other.


Adam "Wildcard" Conus
Hidden City Games
Organized Play Manager
Website - http://www.hiddencitygames.com
Fling Into Action Blog - http://cloutfantasy.blogspot.com/
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.