Subject: Campaign play? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Isaac Santos
United States
Rhode Island
flag msg tools
Hey everybody,

I'm new to Boardgamegeek. Looking for some suggestions for board games that have "campaign play." I'm referring to games like HeroQuest, where players continue playing with the same character through multiple adventures/scenarios, and the character progresses in power, wealth and/or equipment. Basically, no one-shot games. I don't really care about genre or rules complexity, though it'd be preferable if average play time for each scenario wasn't more than 2 hours.

I don't know what the specific search parameter would be to find these types of games on Boardgamegeek. I apologize if this has been asked before, but I wasn't able to find information in the forum.

Thanks ahead of time for your suggestions.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Foldenauer
United States
Ypsilanti
Michigan
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Pathfinder Adventure Card Game: Rise of the Runelords – Base Set - it's like you wrote your post as the opening for a commercial to this game.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
Ladson
South Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
No need to apologize. Most of us love talking shop and recommending games no matter how many times it's been asked.

When I hear campaign like you describe, I think of two things: Descent and Mice & Mystics. There are more out there I'm sure, but these come up all the time.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Josh Worley
United States
St Paul
Minnesota
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Since you mentioned HeroQuest, I assume you're referring to an RPG with a campaign mode? Not a wargame? Do you want a full co-op, or one where one player plays a DM/Overlord role?