Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Sid Meier's Civilization: The Board Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: army on great person rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Brad Hurst
United States
Gastonia
North Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If opponent has a unit on one of my great people, is that great person negated until they are off it? For example, if they put an army on one of my Great Generals? And if so, were I to contest that space, would said great general no longer be inactivated?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Justin B
United States
flag msg tools
Stats not guaranteed accurate. May be made up entirely.
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, the city where the Great Person has been placed may not use any blockaded square's icons, including Great People. In the case of a Great General, timing is the key. If the army blockading the Great General leaves to attack a city or flag belonging to the Great General's owner, the Great General will give its owner its combat bonus (the army is no longer blockading it). If, however, the owner of the Great General attacks the army that is blockading it, the Great General will not give its owner any combat bonus (it is still being blockaded). The same principle applies to barracks and academies. Note that if you are successful in attacking the blockading armies, the Great General will provide its bonus in future battles (unless another army comes in and defeats any remaining armies from your attack, in which case it will be blockaded again.)

To put it simply: When two army figures belonging to different players meet in a square, a battle starts. At this moment, you count your combat bonus. If the defending army is blockading a square, any combat bonus in that square does not count for its owner (even if the owner is not involved in the combat, or if the blockader is not involved.)

I hope that helps.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Luke Sondergeld
Australia
Western Australia
flag msg tools
Concur, If an ARMY figure is on any tile, it negates that tile.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew B
Sweden
Stockholm
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The_One_True_Sonny wrote:
Concur, If an ARMY figure is on any tile, it negates that tile.


As stated in the other thread, scouts can blockade as well.

Rulebook Page 14 wrote:
A square in a city’s outskirts that contains one or more enemy figures (either scouts or armies) does not produce trade for the city’s owner. For full details on this, see “Blockades” on page 27.


Rulebook Page 27 wrote:
Blockades
Enemy forces, properly placed, can prevent a city from obtaining some of the supplies it is used to obtaining. Thus, a square in a city’s outskirts that contains one or more enemy figures (either scouts or armies) does not generate production, trade, culture,coins, or resources for the city’s owner. A square may be blockaded even if it contains a building or a great person.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.