Izya Kazman
Russia
Moskow
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Question wrote:
Can runner use Crescentus and then False Echo on one piece of ICE (break all subroutines -> use Crescentus to derz -> use False Echo)?

Answer wrote:
Thanks for the question. Yes, that is legal. Hope that helps,


Question wrote:
My question is about "Director Haas' Pet Project".
When corp installs cards (through ability of DHPP), does runner need to
know what card is from where? Runner of course knows what combination
corp takes ("2 from HQ, and one - Ice Wall - from open archive"), but
does runner know the exect destination of all cards.

Answer wrote:
Thanks for the question. You should take each card individually from the Archive or HQ and install it; you cannot shuffle the order or hide which one is where. Hope that helps,
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Clayton Threadgill
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
alex_monk wrote:
Question wrote:
Can runner use Crescentus and then False Echo on one piece of ICE (break all subroutines -> use Crescentus to derz -> use False Echo)?

Answer wrote:
Thanks for the question. Yes, that is legal. Hope that helps,

That sounds... really fun, actually. I want to try that now.

alex_monk wrote:
Question wrote:
My question is about "Director Haas' Pet Project".
When corp installs cards (through ability of DHPP), does runner need to
know what card is from where? Runner of course knows what combination
corp takes ("2 from HQ, and one - Ice Wall - from open archive"), but
does runner know the exect destination of all cards.

Answer wrote:
Thanks for the question. You should take each card individually from the Archive or HQ and install it; you cannot shuffle the order or hide which one is where. Hope that helps,

I would have expected this answer. There's already a ruling that says you can't shuffle the order of cards installed in a remote server.

A good rule of thumb is that once information is out in the open it remains open, unless it is explicitly hidden again. The corp isn't allowed to use slight-of-hand to hide things from the runner.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ony Moose
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Is the corp allowed to re-order the cards in hidden archives? I think archives in general can be re-ordered at will, but does the runner get to know you are Archived Memories on the card you trashed when you installed Melange as opposed to the card you trashed when they did FAO?

On topic False Leads + Crescentus is a great counter to advanceable ice decks. Having your 12 counter IceWall sent back to HQ before you commercialise it is going to *hurt*.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Hartman
United States
Battle Ground
WA
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
False echo does allow the corp an opportunity to res that ice again, it is essentially a program version of forged activation order.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Moore
United States
Tallahassee
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Kandiru wrote:
On topic False Echo + Crescentus is a great counter to advanceable ice decks. Having your 12 counter IceWall sent back to HQ before you commercialise it is going to *hurt*.


Somehow you're going to get both of those in play, run past a 12 strength ice wall, break it, derez it trashing Crescentus, trash False Echo to make them pay 1 or return the Ice Wall to their hand, and pray they don't have 1 credit?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Neil G
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
Quote:
False echo does allow the corp an opportunity to res that ice again, it is essentially a program version of forged activation order.


It hadn't occurred to me before, but that's kind of a shame. Without that option, false echo would actually have been something unique and potentially interesting, rather than the massively gimped FAO it actually is. As a long time BWBI player the cresentus + false echo combo would have been bloody terrifying, but also worth applauding for anyone who managed to pull it off.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ony Moose
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Oh, I completely forget the corp could just pay to rez it.

Yeah its trash then. I thought the opportunity to rez it was when you approached it. I guess its a good counter to Archer when you have Faerie installed, force them to rez it one way or the other, but its not better than FAO for that really.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Jones
Canada
flag msg tools
mb
Kandiru wrote:
Is the corp allowed to re-order the cards in hidden archives? I think archives in general can be re-ordered at will, but does the runner get to know you are Archived Memories on the card you trashed when you installed Melange as opposed to the card you trashed when they did FAO?

The order of the cards in Archives is irrelevant, and can be reordered at will, so long as the face-down cards stay face-down while the face-up ones stay face-up. So if you pull out a card that is already face down, they don't get to know what you pull out.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.