Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Panzer (second edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Hill Line of Sight and Smoke questions... rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Kirk Rappe
United States
Mountlake Terrace
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I have two rules questions!

First, the line of sight rules for hills is a bit odd. Here is the situation:

In hex 3110 a T-34 wants to fire at a Tiger in hex 1805. Can the T-34 get line of sight to the Tiger? The rules (4.1.4.2.2) say: "If the line of sight crosses an obstacle which is equal in Height to either the spotting vehicle or the target vehicle, and is higher than the other vehicle, the line of sight is blocked."

But in the case of a hilltop from long range, the gun should be able to depress far enough to hit a target on the horizon?

Can the T-34 fire on the Tiger?

Second, smoke.

Does smoke rounds fire just like AP Direct Fire? That is you must have a direct line of sight to the target space? No indirect fire smoke rounds?? I had a PZ IVH that wanted to fire smoke "over" a hill to aid another unit. The hill blocks line-of-sight, so it can't fire smoke, correct?

Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brent Pollock
Canada
Saskatoon
Saskatchewan
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1. As per the rules, 3110 to 1805 LOS is blocked both directions by 3010.

2. The only way to fire on a target not seen by the firing unit is to use the spotted indirect fire rules (6.5.1.2 & 6.5.1.6.1).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim Day
United States
Ellicott City
Maryland
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
At a height of 2 meters, typical for a tank sight above the ground, the horizon is located 5,000 meters away. That's way beyond the maximum direct fire range for the T-34 (1,700 meters). Hex 3010 is 100 meters across also way beyond what a gun depression would overcome.

The PzIVH didn't utilize indirect fire, so it wouldn't fire smoke shells over hills.

2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.