Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Amun-Re» Forums » Rules

Subject: Designation of 'starting player' during sacrifice phase. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
David T.
United States
Charlotte
North Carolina
flag msg tools
mbmb
The following scenario came up during play, and we need a clarification because it made a difference in our game.

The following occured during the sacrifice:

(Starting player) Player A sacrificed 2 coin
Player B sacrificed 5 coin
Player C sacrificed 2 coin

Player B, with the highest sacrifice collected his 3 items and clearly earned the right to be the new 'starting player'. However, WHEN does he become the new starting player? At the END of the phase? Or IMMEDIATELY?

This is important because Player A and C tied on sacrifice. Player A contended that as the starting player, he broke the tie and was entitled to two items. Player C contended that Player B was the 'new starting player' and since Player C was to the left of Player B, that Player C broke the tie and was entitled to two items.

We settled on Player A remaining the 'starting player' until the end of the phase, and thus Player A got two items. However, this situation will certainly rear its head again, so we are seeking a clarification.

Any assistance is provided, but it would be helpful if you could point to specific rules that guided your input.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Newman
United States
Portland
Oregon
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
We play that the new starting player is resolved immediately. I believe it was clarified later that it should be determined after the phase is over, but we're so used to playing our way (and it makes more sense to us) that we just stuck with it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthew Bond
United Kingdom
Norwich
Norfolk
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
We've always played that the highest bidder becomes the Pharaoh (starting player) immediately.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brad Durandetta
United States
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
Avatar
Follow the instructions for the phase in the order they are given in the rule book. The new starting player is not determined until after everyone who sacrificed enough to be rewarded with gifts receives them. (Otherwise, how would you determine who the next starting player would be in the event of a tie for the highest amount sacrficed?) Therefore, the old starting player's position is used to determine all ties. Then, each player who played a -3 card gets 3 gold (and keeps the card).
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Bailey
United States
Broomfield
Colorado
flag msg tools
badge
GO ROCKIES!!!!!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yeah...what he said. Player A gets 2 items.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave Eisen
United States
Menlo Park
CA
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
I would have preferred if the rules were more explicit about this, but it has always seemed natural for us in my groups to do what they say and take the steps in the order they appear in the rules. Player A gets the 2 goodies.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Philip Thomas
United Kingdom
London
London
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yeah, page 8 of the (Rio Grande rules) lays out the sequence, the starting player is not changed until after everyone is rewarded.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Crawshaw
Australia
Wyoming
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Blue Nation wrote:
The following scenario came up during play, and we need a clarification because it made a difference in our game.

The following occured during the sacrifice:

(Starting player) Player A sacrificed 2 coin
Player B sacrificed 5 coin
Player C sacrificed 2 coin

Player B, with the highest sacrifice collected his 3 items and clearly earned the right to be the new 'starting player'. However, WHEN does he become the new starting player? At the END of the phase? Or IMMEDIATELY?

This is important because Player A and C tied on sacrifice. Player A contended that as the starting player, he broke the tie and was entitled to two items. Player C contended that Player B was the 'new starting player' and since Player C was to the left of Player B, that Player C broke the tie and was entitled to two items.

We settled on Player A remaining the 'starting player' until the end of the phase, and thus Player A got two items. However, this situation will certainly rear its head again, so we are seeking a clarification.

Any assistance is provided, but it would be helpful if you could point to specific rules that guided your input.


I have always played that the free items are distributed before the change of starting player.

The rules on page 8 say:
Quote:
Amun-Re now rewards the players who offered the largest sacrifices with power cards, farmers, and building stones. etc.

Further down the page the rules say:
Quote:
The player with the highest offer is the new starting player and takes the Pharaoh.

Bold as in the rules.

To me this clearly says that the free items are decided first and the change of starting player happens later.

Hope that helps.

Richard
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Newman
United States
Portland
Oregon
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
I guess we've never really had a tie that needed breaking like that. It makes sense.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.