Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Star Trek: Attack Wing» Forums » Rules

Subject: Timing question for "disabled" actions use? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Lon Porter
United States
Indiana
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Here's an odd one that came up today that I am uncertain about.

1)Player one completes her move and selects the Counter Attack card for her action.

2)Player two completes his move and uses Miles O'Brien's action to place a disable token on the first player's Counter Attack card.

Question: Since player one declared the action before it was disabled, will she still be allowed to Counter Attack in the combat phase? ...or is the letter of the rules followed in that any disabled card's text is null until the disable token is removed?

...tough one?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Will Sanchez
United States
Clermont
Florida
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
From my understanding, disabling a card doesn't stop the effect once it's been activated, it just prevents the effect from being reused again until it's re-enabled. It'd work the same as if you disabled Sulu or Data or any other "Action:" card, the effect has already happened - the source is irrelevant. Like shooting a guy -after- he throws a grenade doesn't stop the grenade.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ted Kay
United States
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
delta_angelfire wrote:
From my understanding, disabling a card doesn't stop the effect once it's been activated, it just prevents the effect from being reused again until it's re-enabled. It'd work the same as if you disabled Sulu or Data or any other "Action:" card, the effect has already happened - the source is irrelevant. Like shooting a guy -after- he throws a grenade doesn't stop the grenade.


This seems correct. Also, consider something like Gowron's Action text being used on the turn his ship is destroyed. Although removed from play, his action's effect remains until the end of the round. Allied Klingon ships he targeted would still receive their +1 attack die.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Parks
United States
Somerset
New Jersey
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Quixotic Games: www.quixoticgames.com
badge
Dungeon Alliance: Available Now!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Correct. This is one of the few advantages of an Action as opposed to a continuous effect.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lon Porter
United States
Indiana
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Thanks! Much appreciated!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.