Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Twilight Struggle» Forums » Rules

Subject: Blockade Card Use rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Patrick Thornbury
United States
Chicago
Illinois
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
If this card is played as an event, with the US player discarding a 3OP card (to stop losing W. German influence), does this mean the 3OP card must be a US associated card? Or could they play a USSR 3 OPs card from their hand as well?

thanks
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Irving
United States
Salinas
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
If this card is played as an event, with the US player discarding a 3OP card (to stop losing W. German influence), does this mean the 3OP card must be a US associated card?


No

Quote:
Or could they play a USSR 3 OPs card from their hand as well?


Yes.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marc Guenette
Canada
Montréal
Quebec
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Very wicked cards for a 1 OPS... Wait until the end of a turn, if the US player wasn't carefull it could cost him West Germany as it happened in our last game.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Philip Thomas
United Kingdom
London
London
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Combine with Red Scare/Purge and it is one mean card!

But the ability to discard a high value USSR event on it is one of things that evens it out:As USA you should try to keep such an event in your hand until Blockade has been played.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Patrick Thornbury
United States
Chicago
Illinois
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
So, if the US discards a 3OP USSR card, does the USSR event take place or not?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Philip Thomas
United Kingdom
London
London
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No, in general when a card is discarded its event does not take place: Five Year Plan is an exception, because it specifically says so on the card.

So Blockade can be a handy way to get rid of a nasty Soviet event. However, the play of Red Scare/Purge ruins this idea, because there are no Early War Soviet events of Ops value 4...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tony M
United States
Chicago
Illinois
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes. Blockade is a very nasty card. If the US does not know where Red Scare and Blockade is, it pretty much requires him to keep an "ace in the hole"(a 4) in hand until it is dealt with, or risk losing West Germany.

If you are USA and get dealt an opening hand that does not have: a 4, Blockade or Red Scare, be very afraid !

-T
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Philip Thomas
United Kingdom
London
London
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Well, it would be a pretty sneaky Soviet player who didn't use Red Scare in the first action or headline phase (to get maximum benefit).

Also note that Containment helps here. There is probably some argument that if you are dealt a hand with no 4s and Containment and not containing Red/Scare Purge you should play Containment as a headline.

Actually I just finished a game (opponent, moi), in which Blockade was sucessfully played on Turn 7, and Aldritch Ames on turn 8, and USA won by 46 points...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tony M
United States
Chicago
Illinois
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Heh. As Soviets, if Defectors is not in my hand or the discards, I'll sometimes play a weak headline, and save my Red Scare for a Action Round 1 event.

Since USA hasnt gone yet, it still has maximum impact, and can't be countered ! devil

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.