Recommend
 Thumb up
 Hide
26 Posts
1 , 2  Next »   | 

BoardGameGeek» Forums » Gaming Related » Recommendations

Subject: Game Recommendations for Someone Trying to Get Started in the Hobby rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
David Auxier
United States
Ridgway
Illinois
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hey everybody, I am pretty new to board games (beyond childhood games of risk, clue, and monopoly). A friend introduced me to Settlers a year or so ago and I liked it enough to give board gaming a shot.

In the last year I've acquired a handful of games (Ticket to Ride, Carcassonne, Forbidden Island, Dominion, and Settlers with the Seafarers plus Cities and Knights expansions). I've enjoyed all of these games (though I like Carcassonne and Forbidden Island a bit less than the others), and I would like to find a few more to try.

The issue is that I'm working from a fairly limited budget, so I don't want to buy just anything and I'd like to try some games that feature different styles and mechanics than those that I've already played.

So, if you could only recommend your top 2 or 3 games someone like me ought to try next, what would they be? Thanks in advance for any of you willing to take a few minutes to help out a new guy.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David B
United States
Chesapeake
Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
From the list you have played, I think you can handle something a bit more difficult. You should try an auction game and the best one I know of (IMO of course) is Goa. It is a classic euro and because of the random set up of the tiles, each game plays out a bit differently. I believe it to be one of the classics.

A wonderful card game that is also full of variety and different paths to victory is Race for the Galaxy. The first 2 or 3 games are all about learning the symbols, but once you are past that, the symbols make sense and you are hooked. Fantastic game.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Bowles
Australia
Tatura