In the interest of giving credit where credit is due, my avatar is a scan of a hand-drawn caricature by cartoonist Jim Naylor which was done at my company's 20th anniversary dinner.
Norton Canes wrote:
Commander Vimes wins if the draw deck is exhausted. Does this mean he wins at the exact moment the last card is taken? Or is the draw deck not counted as 'exhausted' if a player can take exactly as many cards as he needs to replenish his hand, and let the turn progress to the next player - who might have satisfied their victory condition?
We ruled for the former, but just thought it was worth checking.
The game ends at the exact moment that the last card is taken (emphasis added by me):
Ankh-Morpork Rules wrote:
The game ends when either a player achieves the victory conditions on his or her Personality card OR if the ‘Riot’ Random Event card is drawn and the conditions on the card are met OR as soon as one player takes the last card from the draw pile.