Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ronald Hundertmark
United States
San Mateo
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
With no one to teach me, a buddy and I just slogged through the rules for Up Front and tried the first senario. I'm excited for more but the learning curve on this one is mighty steep (granted, I'm a wargame newbie). One question came up that I couldn't quite figure out. My group A moved past my opponents group B (relative range went from 5 to 4) putting me in natural flank position on his group B (and vice versa?). He then played two fire cards with double the firepower per the flank advantage and decimated my squad. He played this from a marsh terrain card. Is this legit? The rules give me the impression that a flank position is driven by a movement card. Can someone shed some light on this one for me. Thanks in advance.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Irving
United States
Salinas
California
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Ron 100mark wrote:
With no one to teach me, a buddy and I just slogged through the rules for Up Front and tried the first senario. I'm excited for more but the learning curve on this one is mighty steep (granted, I'm a wargame newbie). One question came up that I couldn't quite figure out. My group A moved past my opponents group B (relative range went from 5 to 4) putting me in natural flank position on his group B (and vice versa?). He then played two fire cards with double the firepower per the flank advantage and decimated my squad. He played this from a marsh terrain card. Is this legit? The rules give me the impression that a flank position is driven by a movement card. Can someone shed some light on this one for me. Thanks in advance.

Flanking is pretty complicated. Probably the most complicated rule--until you get to AFV's and anti-tank weapons.