Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Hunting Party» Forums » Rules

Subject: Thwarting your own Hunt rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jonathan Tang
Malaysia
KL
WP
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I've a question about Thwarting a Hunt.
Lets say I'm holding the Catacombs Prophecy card.

I have Hunters with the following skills:

Melee[/COLOR]
Tracks
Catacombs

I declare a Hunt, and through sheer dumb luck, everyone passes.
Now, I know that I haven't found the Shadow, since I'm holding the Catacombs card.

What exactly happens then?
Do I tell everyone that I've been thwarted (by my own Prophecy)?
Do I fight a Dark Agent? Or immediately lose a Hunter?
Because everyone will assume that I've discovered the Shadow, can I keep them confused by sacrificing a Hunter? (as though he was killed by the Shadow)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Shawn Low
Australia
Footscray
Victoria
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
jttm wrote:
I've a question about Thwarting a Hunt.
Lets say I'm holding the Catacombs Prophecy card.

...
What exactly happens then?


Erm, you lose?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Patrick Christenson
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmb
You tell everyone that you can thwart your own hunt without revealing how. Then you fight a dark agent from the Catacombs.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dane Peacock
United States
Stansbury Park
Utah
flag msg tools
badge
That tickles
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
We have been playing that you have to show the other players your card when thwarting your own hunt. Whoops. This situation actually happens quite a bit.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Barry Figgins
United States
Woodland
California
flag msg tools
badge
http://lyrislaser.com
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The player who can thwart your hunt declares he can do so, and secretly shows you a card that can thwart it.
So in this case, do the same: declare you can thwart the hunt, then show yourself the card you already have.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Dupree
United States
Bellevue
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
beri wrote:
The player who can thwart your hunt declares he can do so, and secretly shows you a card that can thwart it.
So in this case, do the same: declare you can thwart the hunt, then show yourself the card you already have.


Does that mean someone with the Oracle can make you read your own card aloud instead of showing it to yourself?

~stannius
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Patrick Christenson
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmb
Yes, she can.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.