Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Dave Duffield
United States
Indianapolis
Indiana
flag msg tools
Hi,

I'm pretty new to AoS. We just played our first game last night (and no one went backrupt which I hear is a major achievement). An interesting question came up---

Suppose I'm at a locomotive value of 6 links already but my opponents are starved for locomotive capabilities. I can't choose Locomotive and get up to 7 links, but can I choose it just to make sure no one else gets it? (Assuming I'm a mean cutthroat SOB.)

Thanks for any comments. I love the game and BGG.

Dave

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Hudson
United States
Vermilion
Ohio
flag msg tools
designer
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pierce Ostrander
United States
Albuquerque
New Mexico
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
You can't play AOS well without being a "mean cutthroat SOB".

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Malachi Brown
United States
Hermitage
TN
flag msg tools
It's turtles all the way down.
badge
“Questions are a burden to others; answers a prison for oneself.”
mbmbmbmbmb
fubar awol wrote:
You can't play AOS well without being a "mean cutthroat SOB".

Sure you can... just don't expect to win.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Karl Rainer
Canada
Nanaimo
BC
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
You may choose the locomotive action, thus denying it to your opponents, but your locomotive simply stays at the maximum of 6. Cruelly effective move, when you think about it.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave Eisen
United States
Menlo Park
CA
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
This really is different from what I've heard from people who know better. I don't know, quotes from John Bohrer or something.

I suppose I need to do some research.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Bohrer
United States
Pittsburgh
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
dkeisen wrote: