GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
9,270 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
17 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
 Thumb up
 Hide
21 Posts

World in Flames» Forums » Strategy

Subject: Is Sea Lion a viable option? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Matteo
Italy
Rome
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hello everybody!

Since we're soon going to begin a new global campaign and I could be the german player, I was wondering if Sea Lion is actually a viable option. I won't probably choose it anyway, because I'm still quite new to the game to try such a feat, but I am curious. I see it mentioned often in this forum, but I never read a game report where it was attempted. So, have you ever performed or witnessed a succesful invasion of Great Britain?

Thanks, Matteo.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wendell
United States
Yellow Springs
Ohio
flag msg tools
Si non potes reperire Berolini in tabula, ludens essetis non WIF.
badge
Hey, get your stinking cursor off my face! I got nukes, you know.
mbmbmbmbmb
I have certainly heard of them but haven't seen one in a game I've been in. Much will depend on what rules you are using and on objectives - but yes, Britain can be invaded though conquering it is tough and German units there run the risk of ending up in a really big POW camp...
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matteo
Italy
Rome
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb

And can you remember if those SL you heard about were succesful or not?
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wendell
United States
Yellow Springs
Ohio
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
teobius wrote:

And can you remember if those SL you heard about were succesful or not?

Define "successful"? Many SL's don't actually conquer the UK, but DO inflict a great deal of damage on CW production and force the liberation of Western Europe to begin in Britain instead of France. That may or may not be successful depending on the Axis' perspective.