michele romanelli
United States
Winnabow
North Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hello everybody, here I go with a couple of questions:

- Rule 9.3 states that troops transported by retreating fleets are unloaded into the same harbor; condition is that harbor has to be friendly; so, what if the territory contains enemy troops, is there a battle?

- Rule 5.6 states that the attacker retreats via borders used to attack; so, can frontal assault blocks decide to retreat using the border used by reserves, just because the rules are not stating specifically otherwise?

By the way, I'm enjoying the game a lot!

Thanks!

2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thomas Herlofsen
Norway
Skien
Telemark
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb

The answer to the 2nd question IMO is yes; as long as you retreat through "your" borders you're fine. The rule seems carefully phrased to allow for this.


1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
michele romanelli
United States
Winnabow
North Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you Tom,

the unloading question still stands ...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Muldoon (silentdibs)
United States
Astoria
New York
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
GEKO wrote:
Rule 9.3 states that troops transported by retreating fleets are unloaded into the same harbor; condition is that harbor has to be friendly; so, what if the territory contains enemy troops, is there a battle?

Thanks for uncovering a wrinkle in gameplay that the rules do not cover.

I would say that if a loaded fleet retreats to a harbor where the enemy occupies the territory (but does not control the garrison), the fleets survive but the loaded army/regiment blocks are eliminated (you cannot retreat under normal circumstances to an enemy-occupied territory).
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
michele romanelli
United States
Winnabow
North Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you Scott, makes sense. Anyway, are we giving the right interpretation to rule 5.6?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Muldoon (silentdibs)
United States
Astoria
New York
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thomas Herlofsen
Norway
Skien
Telemark
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for chiming in, Scott. I scoured consimworld looking for an answer to that question. And thanks for a great production of a great game.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.