Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
13 Posts

Star Trek: Attack Wing» Forums » Rules

Subject: Ferengi Missile Launchers rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jim McBratney

Kansas
msg tools
Card Text - Attack: Disable this card to perform this attack. Make 2 attacks against ship(s) in your forward firing arc; Roll 2 attack dice for each of these attacks. Any [crit] results that would damage an opponent's Shields inflict critital damage to that ship's Hull instead.

The text states that you make 2 attacks and that you "Roll 2 attack dice for each of these attacks." Does that lock the number of attack dice at 2 despite any other game effect that attempts to increase the number of attack dice?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sax Carr
United States
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Well the Enterprize-D ability says you roll 3 dice for that attack, and that can be buffed (by close range for example) so this might as well?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Charles Silbernagel
Canada
Calgary
Alberta
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
I would say that it doesn't restrict the number from going up through other effects. A weapon card that rolls 5 dice gets an extra die from Donatra doesn't it, so the Ferengi missiles should behave the same I think?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alex
msg tools
In another thread the designer replied that buffs apply to both attacks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Steiner
United States
Colorado
flag msg tools
Keep in mind the Enterprise-D ability is a primary weapon and gets the bonus range 1 die. This attack is a secondary weapon and isn't affected by range modification (r1 +1A-r3 +1D), but it does get the benefit of cards like Donatra or ships that add damage.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt G
msg tools
mb
This sounds potentially crazy powerful, though you'd need a big point investment. For example:

Put Gowron on a nearby ship. Have Donatra captain a Klingon ship, with the Missile Launchers. You can fire two different 4-attack die attacks in a single turn, and crits go through shields. Yeouch.

If you combined that with Attack Pattern Omega you could really mess up some enemy ships.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt G
msg tools
mb
For less of a point cost - does the Krayton's ability work on the missile launchers? So: Disable a shield, get an extra attack die on each missile launcher attack? Hm.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Parks
United States
Somerset
New Jersey
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Marvel Strike Teams (2018)
badge
Marvel Strike Teams: November 2018
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
forkbeard wrote:
For less of a point cost - does the Krayton's ability work on the missile launchers? So: Disable a shield, get an extra attack die on each missile launcher attack? Hm.


No. Because it adds +1 attack die "this round", it only gives a total of +1 attack die to be added this round. This is similar to the text on Scotty.

Andrew
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt G
msg tools
mb
Makes sense, Andrew. Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thomas Landy
Canada
Winnipeg
Manitoba
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Andrew, just to make sure I have this down pat 100%

If some text bonus says "this round" its pretty well a one shot deal that turn. Otherwise, it's probably a continual effect bonus. Correct?

So if the Khazara was packing Missile Launchers, it would get +1 for EACH attack because its special text says, "If you initiate an attack while cloaked add +1 attack die." Right?

However, the Valdore ship says, "If you perform a Green Manuver, add +1 attack die for the remainder of this round." Is this supposed to be a one shot deal that turn (first attack only with Missile Launchers) or does the "remainder" mean the entire remainder so both attacks would get the bonus?

Likewise, is the Missile Launchers attack considered to be one attack or two attacks? I'm asking because when the Command Tokens come into play, #7 says "Before rolling any of your attack dice, you may add +1 attack die to the current attack." This only applies to the first Missile Launchers attack, right?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Parks
United States
Somerset
New Jersey
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Marvel Strike Teams (2018)
badge
Marvel Strike Teams: November 2018
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1. Correct

2. Correct, the Missile Launchers effectively become two attacks as per their wording.

3. One shot deal. The words "the remainder of" probably should have been omitted for clarity sake.

4. Two attacks. So Command Token #7 only modifies one of them.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sean McAuley
msg tools
mbmbmb
The cards reads make 2 attacks against ship(s) in your firing arc, so does that mean you attack 1 ship in your firing arc, 2 ships in your firing arc (1 attack each), or can you attack ALL ships in your firing arc? Clarification is appreciated.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stephen Thorpe
United Kingdom
Leeds
West Yorkshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It means you attack twice. The target of the each attack is a single ship but you can choose either both attacks at the same ship OR you may choose to attack a different ship with each attack. (hence ship OR ships).
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.