Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Sentinels of the Multiverse: Shattered Timelines» Forums » Rules

Subject: Kismet, the advanced Charmed Scoundrel rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Dennison Milenkaya
United States
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Kismet's advanced rule wrote:
At the start of the villain turn, Kismet deals each hero affected by a jinx card 2 psychic damage.


If a single hero is affected by two jinx cards, does this cause two instances of psychic damage? "A" is very often used in place of "per" (as in "60 miles an hour" or "one a day") which would suggest so. If not, clearer wording could've been "each hero affected by any number of jinx cards" ... but clear wording is not this game's strength.


 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Booth
United States
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
I agree it's not clear, but I'd read that to mean that if you have at least one Jinx card, you're going to take 2 psychic damage. Since it doesn't say 2 psychic damage per card, I wouldn't multiply the damage.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J Karrde
United States
San Diego
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I agree that any number of jinx cards does a total of 2 damage.

In your example of "a" = "per" it's a direct replacement:

One a day / One per day
60 miles an hour / 60 miles per hour

However, this wouldn't work here.

"Kismet deals each hero affected by per jinx card 2 psychic damage" doesn't make sense.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dennison Milenkaya
United States
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
It does appear that 2 total is the intention.

Syntax is fudged with or without substituting the word, however, so it makes about as much sense either way.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
brian
United States
Cedar Lake
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mb
I read it is as 2 damage only. If it was 2 per jinx card, it would be more explicit.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.