Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Andean Abyss» Forums » Rules

Subject: Predesignating Operations rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mark Evans
United States
Berlin
New Hampshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I have been under the impression that operations must be predesignated. (Looking at the first paragraph of 3.1) So basically you state the name of the operation, then announce (place pawns) where the operations are to take place. Special Activities would work the same way (Looking at 4.1).

So if I have this right here comes the question. It is implied that you can pay as you go. So if FARC has 3 Resources and designates 5 Rallies and 2 Extorts this is OK. FARC must conduct these in a specific order to make it all legal.

As a convention we agreed that the opponent(s) could ask the player to demonstrate that FARC can actually pay for all the designated spaces, and FARC must then do that or redo their designations.

So here is the sticky question. If all of the above is correct and reasonable then how is the following handled?

FARC has 3 resources and designates 7 terror operations and 1 kidnap. FARC claims that the kidnap will pay for the difference. This is only true if FARC rolls a 4 or more on the kidnap. Is this allowed?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nathan Lee
Canada
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Everything I have seen in examples of gameplay seems to imply that you can pay as you go, especially since it says that you can do some operations in some spaces, perform a special activity (which includes kidnapping), and then continue with the operations in some other space(s).

Generally, because of the limited use of dice in the game, this example you have provided is an uncommon occurrence. Most outcomes are clear and predictable in advance of you doing them, so whether you predesignate or not, it doesn't have a huge effect on gameplay.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Don't Blink
Australia
Brisbane
QLD
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
That is fine. Let him kidnap first, then see how many resources he has to pay for his allocated terror spaces
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Volko Ruhnke
United States
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Do everything one thing at a time and pay as you go. There is no predesignation rule for Operations in the COIN Series as there is in, say, LABYRINTH. Whenever you want or need to interrupt your Ops to be able to pay for more spaces by earning Resources with Extort or Kidnap, do so, but you have to then complete all your Special Activity (Extort, Kidnap) at once before resuming your Ops (4.1).

(The Tutorial gives the wrong impression with regard to Extort. See the Errata clarifications for Rules page 6 and Playbook page 8.)

Volko
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stephen Stewart
United States
Visalia
California
flag msg tools
badge
It's sooo Hot out here...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The markers are pretty much that...markers to where you want to perform an action. You aren't Committed to doing that action, especially since you can't pay for it.

He could just Kidnap, then put out whatever terrors he wants.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Evans
United States
Berlin
New Hampshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Volko wrote:
There is no predesignation rule for Operations in the COIN Series...


That is good to know and clears things up.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rob Davidson
United States
Orland Park
IL
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
drmark64 wrote:
Volko wrote:
There is no predesignation rule for Operations in the COIN Series...


That is good to know and clears things up.


Yes, I was under the same misconception also; then came to realize not only was there no pre-designation, also that the markers are more for showing where you have done something during the course of your turn. Thereby showing spaces that are either eligible for 'specials' or to prevent an accidental 'double-dip' of say a terror or extortion in the same space in one turn.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.