Justin Miller
United States
Indianapolis
Indiana
flag msg tools
mbmb
Can an overlord card that tests a hero's attribute target a knocked out hero?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bryce K. Nielsen
United States
Elk Ridge
Utah
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Usually no, since it targets the hero figure and not the hero token. Basically, when they're knocked down, they're out of the game until they get back up.

-shnar
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thomas Cook
msg tools
What about a card like Blinding Speed, that isn't so much targeting the hero as an "attack" or "trap" but rather simply instructs the OL to "choose a hero, and test _____" to determine whether a benefit is received for the monster?

(In the case of Blinding Speed, a monster receiving additional movement points.)

Does that make any difference? Seems more a trigger than an attack to me, but that may be a false distinction.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adny Riik
Slovakia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
tcook wrote:
What about a card like Blinding Speed, that isn't so much targeting the hero as an "attack" or "trap" but rather simply instructs the OL to "choose a hero, and test _____" to determine whether a benefit is received for the monster?

(In the case of Blinding Speed, a monster receiving additional movement points.)

Does that make any difference? Seems more a trigger than an attack to me, but that may be a false distinction.
does it target a hero? yes.
is hero token a hero? no.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stephen Williams
Canada
Mississauga
Ontario
flag msg tools
Avatar
Adny wrote:

does it target a hero? yes.
is hero token a hero? no.


This. Right here.

The only abilities that can affect a KO'd hero token are healing abilities, and those only because the rules for KO specifically say so. Everything else is off-limits. The hero himself is not on the board, and therefore not in play, for any other effects to affect it.

The token is merely a reminder of which space he was in when he fell down.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.